Need advice installing WinXP Pro and Linux SuSe on blank system.

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Alex Ethridge

I have plenty of experience installing all releases of Windows; but, my experience with Linux is years old. I have a Dell laptop here that I am expected to set up with Windows XP Pro and Linux SuSe 9.3 in a dual-boot configuration.

Which OS would be best to install first?

Also, I need advice on partitioning. Frankly, (pardon my ignorance if this sounds ignorant) I would like to set it up on a file system that both Windows XP and Linux could use. FAT32 would be fine--if they have that file system in common.

I'm totally in the dark about Linux so any advice would be appreciated.

Install Windows XP first.
Use FAT32 for Windows, and use ext3 or reiserfs for Linux. You can't run them both on the same filesystem, but this way you will be able to share files between the two.

And you could install XP on the entire HD and then let SuSE shrink the partition as you see fit - maybe 50/50. Thats what I did...

Squashman

Retired Trusted Advisor
Well, I personally would make a NTFS partition to install Windows on. Dont use the entire drive. When you are in Windows go into disk management and make a FAT32 data partition. Again just big enough for whatever you need. Then install linux on the remaining space left on the drive.

Alex Ethridge

Thanks.

This was enough (along with distant past experience which I remember vaguely) to give me the idea to divide the drive 50/50 and put Windows in the primary partition I created, and leave the rest of the drive as unpartitioned space. I'll let Linux partition the rest as it sees fit.

I assume that if I get a choice, I should choose ext3 file system for Linux.