Need Advice on Language for this Project

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Alex Ethridge

I apologize for the length of this post; but, not being a programmer, I don't know how to express this differently.

I need a form that will make comprehensive comparisons of relatively simple number sets based on value outputs assigned to user-selected radio buttons. Not being a programmer, I have no idea which programming language/program to use for this project and this is what I need recommendations on. What programming language will enable me to learn enough about it in the shortest time before being able to start on my project?

I did this same project years ago; but, in that case, I had someone write a PERL script and I ran it from a web site. My limitations in programming may find it more practical to run from a web site again; however, I still have to do the programming myself as I will be tweaking this thing regularly for a while.

When finished, the program needs to run on about any system Windows 98 and above and be small enough for convenient and free download. It is preferable that no installation be necessary (just download and use); but, I realize this might not be practical. Being able to print and/or save the form after filling it in would be nice as this would allow me to troubleshoot problems reported by users.

I'll call this the "Level Calculator"

Section A:
Item A1
User ticks one of four radio buttons with a mathematical value of 1, 2, 3, or 4.
Item A2:
User ticks one of four radio buttons with a mathematical value of 1, 2, 3, or 4.
Item A3:
Item A4:

If none of the values of A1 through A4 match, A=the lowest one of all the values.
If two or more of the values for A1 through A4 match, A=the lowest one of the two matching values.

Section B:
Item B1
Item B2:
Item B3:
Item B4: