1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

need advice on laptop purchase

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by osephj, Nov 15, 2019.

Advertisement
  1. osephj

osephj Thread Starter

I have a general question. I hope this is the correct place to post it.
    I am looking to buy a low budget laptop. I am a novice but have research
    some of the basics of what specs are important for different uses. Some of
    the laptops have two drives. One hdd and one ssd. Is this a good setup.
    If one of the drives fails, will the device still work on the other?

would appreciate some opinions.

Thanks

2. plodr

plodr

First Name:
    Liz
    Only one drive can hold the operating system, usually the ssd. If that fails, no, the other drive does not take over.

If you want laptop advice, you need to post what your budget is (the highest amount you are willing to spend) and also what things you intend to do on this laptop. Editing video requires higher hardware than a alptop that will mainly be used for email and web surfing.

3. osephj

osephj Thread Starter

Thanks for the info about multiple drives. My budget is 400 to 600 hopefully. My current laptop is a hand me down Dell with vista. Its old and tired. I can't update my browsers and some sites I can no
    longer access due to that. My use is just web browsing, simple word processing, photo storage and
    scanning, netflix, and storing and paying e bills. No gaming or photo editing. I do want 64 bit windows 10. Is 4 gb ram ok? Is 256 gb drive good or is 500 advisable. Is dual core processor adequate. Usb 3 is wanted as well. Sorry for so much information. Your thoughts will be appreciated.
    I have done too much research for my skills and my head is spinning.

4. plodr

plodr

First Name:
    Liz