Need assistance troubleshooting boot issue.

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Quantized

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 7, 2013
Messages
7
Hey all,
I put a rig together for my old man about 12 months ago, it was working just fine up until recently and I'm not sure what is wrong with it.
About a month or perhaps two ago it started having issues booting, he said it would boot intermitantly when he tried to start it up. Sometimes it would take him 10 or so restarts to get the computer going, this has now progressed to the point where it no longer boots at all.
When you try to boot it, the fans all spin up and the DRAM light turns on and stays on (ASUS Mobo). The first thing I tried was running MemOK to see if that would fix the issue, but alas it does nothing to help.
Seeing as the DRAM light was on permanently and the computer wasn't giving me any POST beeps, I assumed it might be a memory issue. Since then I've tried booting the computer with several different sticks of RAM that I know work (taken from other working computers) as well as with a stick of brand new RAM taken from the ASUS list for the mobo in question. Still no luck.
I've tried breadboarding to some extent, I've pull it apart and made sure nothing is plugged in other than the CPU, HSF and PSU. When I do this the fans spin up and I get the beep code telling me that I have no memory installed (as expected), however as soon as I install any memory I am straight back to the old issue of having the DRAM light go red and no action (other than power to the fans).
Tonight I intend to try a different PSU just to check that it is not the issue, other than that I have no idea. Is the mobo just not working, are the DIMM slots all buggered? If changing the PSU doesn't work the only thing I can think of is replacing the Mobo, spending money isn't an issue but I would like to only buy what is required to get the machine running again!
It's also worth noting that when it did boot up, from then on it seemed to have no issues at all.

Cheers for your help!

Quant.

Specs:
AMD Phenom II X6
Samsung f3 1TB
G.SKILL Ripjaws 2x2GB
ASUS M4A88T-M-USB3
Thermaltake V3 BE with 450W PSU
Win 7
Some samsung DVD drive.
 
Joined
May 12, 2011
Messages
7,933
First Name
Jim
Back to the bare motherboard w/cpu and power supply. Try clearing the CMOS, and then install the RAM if you get the BEEP code for missing RAM.

Aside from that, it's likely one of those three components. Power supply, motherboard, or cpu (in that order).

Based on the power supply specs, I'd say faulty power supply.
 

Quantized

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 7, 2013
Messages
7
Back to the bare motherboard w/cpu and power supply. Try clearing the CMOS, and then install the RAM if you get the BEEP code for missing RAM.

Aside from that, it's likely one of those three components. Power supply, motherboard, or cpu (in that order).

Based on the power supply specs, I'd say faulty power supply.
Alright thanks! I will swap out the PSU with the HX-620 I have sitting at home and see if that fixes the issue, if not I am not sure I have an easy way to test the CPU as my other comp at home isn't the same socket, but I'll guess it's the Mobo and just grab a new one I spose!
 

Quantized

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 7, 2013
Messages
7
Tried clearing CMOS, swapped in the HX-620, still no luck. Same issue as before, fans spin up and DRAM light goes on.

Replace the mobo?
 

Quantized

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 7, 2013
Messages
7
Have tried three different sets of RAM. Anyone have recommendations on what Mobo to get?
 

Quantized

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 7, 2013
Messages
7
Well considering the rest of the build is pretty cheap don't need anything fancy. Prefer something reliable though, that is plenty cheap enough, and I've had good experiences with gigabyte in the past.

Easiest to get something off the AM3 list here: http://www.msy.com.au/Parts/PARTS.pdf
 
Joined
Feb 7, 2013
Messages
350
That's a little more to work with.

Hmm.. Do you need a Micro ATX board or can you go full?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top