need correct driver for IBM modem

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Tlgccc

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 9, 2004
Messages
7
I keep getting disconnected from the internet, AOL said to call IBM for correct modem, driver, & com. IBM wanted $179.00!!!
I have an IBM APtiva, Windows 95. I installed a new IBM modem 1 year ago, after lightning storm. No problems until now.
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2002
Messages
1,824
You wouldn't happen to know what the make and model of the new modem is, do you??

There might be a sticker or something on the card if you pull it out to look.

Then you might be able to find the driver online.
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2003
Messages
854
HI TIG .. could you please post the model number of your IBM aptiva and your operating system. That way we can see if they have the specs on their site and perhaps the drivers as well . Thank you.
 

Tlgccc

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 9, 2004
Messages
7
Thanks, 2142 S62 Aptiva -Windows 95
The ModumThat came up on one of my ports was 14.4 Data Fax w/ DAA PCM CIA. I ordered it from IBM about 1 yr ago.
I am just home for lunch - I get off work at 7:00, so I'll check back then. Thanks so much for any advice!
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2001
Messages
968
I hate to say it, BUT AOL as an ISP does have it's problems with disconnects.
Which version of IE are you using? Or, are you using the AOL version----

SM
 

Tlgccc

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 9, 2004
Messages
7
Thanks ! I'll check out that site. I have no idea which IE I have - How do I find out?
 

Tlgccc

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 9, 2004
Messages
7
I just looked at that site, it does look like the one I need! If I download it, and then it's not, will it hurt anything?
Thanks!
 
Joined
Mar 12, 2002
Messages
5,520
Howdy folks...

Tlgccc...

This is a laptop correct ?

If so remove the PCMIA modem ( power down first ) and post the model # and anything else it say's on the top and bottom of the card...
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2003
Messages
854
http://www-306.ibm.com/pc/support/s...artnumberind=0&subcategoryind=0&validate=true
This is the download site for the original modem drivers for that pc so if they gave you an identical modem these SHOULD be it .. It is odd though because you asked at first for pcm cia drivers which I do believe are for a laptop no ?? Can somebody back me up on this one or am I wrong ? I think the guys are right and unless you have some kind of model number for the modem you put in you are going to have to pull it out and check the numbers on it to make sure which model you have so we can help you find the right drivers.
 
Joined
Mar 12, 2002
Messages
5,520
No...catlady13...you're not wrong, PCMCIA cards are usually for Laptops, although there are PCMCIA adapter cards for PCI slots out there...

http://www.elandigitalsystems.com/adapter/index.php

But I think if Tlgccc, is showing a PCMCIA driver then it is the wrong driver for the card ( I've used PCMCIA drivers for a HSP 56 Micromodem, and they worked, although not very well )...


Tlgccc...

If you are still in this go here,Aida32 and download and install Aida32, it should tell you what modem you have...
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top