1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

need emergency cpr.......

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by jssch, Nov 28, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jssch

    jssch Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2000
    Messages:
    472
    OK, after reading all the posts and following all the directions, I backed up my info and performed fdisk on my hard drive.

    I put in the recovery cd upon reboot and now, here is the problem:

    It reads the CD to start the recovery, it says:" Starting Windows 95" then goes to what looks like the recovery screen.
    It says "Please Wait"
    then it gives me this terrible feeling in the pit of my stomach.
    It reads
    "Error: this utility needs a CD ROM Drive please remove all floppies and Cd's and reboot"

    It read the CD to start the recovery, why is it not recognizing that I have a CD Drive?

    Am i stuck? I have to do this at work and then go home to try things out which is a pain.

    Windows 95 was preloaded on the computer and a Windows 98 upgrade CD came with the purchase.
     
  2. slipe

    slipe

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2000
    Messages:
    6,832
    My old Compaq had both a floppy and CD for recovery. The floppy had the drivers for the CD-ROM which would then allow the CD to be read after the format. I notice most recovery CDs don’t come with a floppy anymore, so you might have everything you need.

    If a floppy is required you can probably download it from the computer maker’s site. Take a look there and see if there might not be some instructions for using the recovery CD.
     
  3. jssch

    jssch Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2000
    Messages:
    472
    Windows 95 was preloaded on the machine. It cma ewith a 98 upgrade CD.

    I have a laptop that runs Windows 98. Is there a way to create a boot-up Cd from my laptop to use on my desktop?

    Basically, I am looking for any idea on getting my desktop up and running again, because I am having no luck with the recovery CD?
     
  4. hewee

    hewee

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    57,791
  5. slipe

    slipe

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2000
    Messages:
    6,832
    You can make a startup CD from your laptop. Go to Add/Remove programs in Control Panel and select the Startup Disc tab – it will put one on floppy for you.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/59921

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice