1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Need file manager with four windows

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by Alex Ethridge, Sep 27, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Alex Ethridge

Alex Ethridge Thread Starter

I have been using PowerDesk for several years now; however, I would like the ability to open four windows at once. PowerDesk gives me only two.

Does anyone know of a similar file manager that will give me four windows?

2. JohnWill

JohnWill Retired Moderator

Open two instances of PowerDesk?

3. mobo

mobo

Linux :D

4. Alex Ethridge

The PowerDesk toolbar on the second copy take up too much of the screen.

5. RandyG

RandyG

6. michael_jii

michael_jii

ope my computer 4 times....

7. pgriffet

pgriffet

Total Commander will be soon available with a new interface which includes tabs. You will able to open as many tabs as you want, synchronized.
    Here is the thread on the TC forum, initiated by the author itself : http://www.ghisler.ch/board/viewtopic.php?t=1166

TC is the BEST file manager, used by MS at Redmond and mentionned on alt.comp.freeware as the best choice for file management, even if it's a shareware but there is no difference between the trial version and the official version. TC available here : http://www.ghisler.com

I NEVER use Explorer as this file manager LIES about the real folder content, for "security reasons". No one will prevent me from accessing my disks and see what's really going on and not the way MS wants me to view my disk (TIF folder, Recycle Bin, desktop.ini and index.dat files, and so on).

8. Alex Ethridge