1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Need help adding D-Link dl524 wireless router to Westell modem for AT&T dsl

Discussion in 'Networking' started by stevewilson123, Jan 31, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. stevewilson123

    stevewilson123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Hello,
    I bought a standard Westell modem for AT&T highspeed DSL because I already had a D-Link dl524 wireless router which I was using for cable high speed. AT&T helped me set up the system direct to my PC without the router and said they couldn't help me add the router to the set up. I want to be able to connect my laptop to the internet using the wireless router. Based on what I've read, I think I have to change some settings but have no clue as to how to do this. Any help in this matter would be deeply appreciated. PC uses XP and the laptop uses Vista.
    Thanks,
    Steve Wilson
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    With the DSL connected directly to your computer and the router out of the picture, please post this.


    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt:

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  3. stevewilson123

    stevewilson123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Hi Jon, Here is the info you asked for.
    Thanks,
    Steve

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6001]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Steve>IPCONFIG /ALL

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Steve-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : sd.cox.net

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce 10/100/1000 Mbps Networking
    Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1F-16-71-20-73
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::4c68:11b0:27f2:7bef%11(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.64(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, February 01, 2010 12:06:09 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, February 02, 2010 12:06:09 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : sd.cox.net
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR5007 802.11b/g WiFi Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-24-2B-AE-33-7D
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::29c9:280a:fbc4:7ac7%10(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.100(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Friday, January 29, 2010 11:51:18 AM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, February 07, 2010 1:36:52 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : sd.cox.net
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.sd.cox.net
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{9E2800B7-2B32-4D7B-95AF-ECA44BEA1
    29A}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 6TO4 Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    C:\Users\Steve>
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,009
    First Name:
    Terry
    It's advisable to change the D-Link dl524's SSID to something you like and enable WPA-PSK encryption, and to assign a login password to the router. Otherwise the factory default settings should be fine. It is using an IP address range different from your Westell modem/router.
     
  5. stevewilson123

    stevewilson123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Hi, I assume the changes you suggest happen at the D-link registration page. I was able to get there once but once I registered or whatever you call it, I couldn't connect to the internet again. Oddly, I think I had the cables plugged in wrong. I've followed the instructions for connecting the modem, router and computer and they seem to assume that connectivity will happen automatically. It did once but I've not been able to get connected to the internet since if the router is connected. I've tried several times (both using the right and wrong way of plugging in the cables and I've not been able to get on the internet. If I use the modem only, both my PC and laptop connect to the net just fine.
    Thanks,
    Steve
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Let's start from scratch with the modem and see if we can't make progress.


    The following procedure should get you a connection with any broadband modem that is configured to use DHCP for the router connection, such as cable modems, and many DSL modems. If you require PPPoE configuration for the DSL modem, that will have to be configured to match the ISP requirements.

    Note that the wireless encryption and channel selection will have to be done after the basic wired connection is established, the first step is to get wired connections working.


    • Reset the router to factory defaults by holding the reset button down for 15 seconds with power on.
    • Turn off everything, the modem, router, computer.
    • Connect the modem to the router's WAN/Internet port.
    • Connect the computer to one of the router's LAN/Network ports.
    • Turn on the modem, wait for a steady connect light.
    • Turn on the router, wait for two minutes.
    • Boot the computer.

    When the computer is completely booted, let's see this.

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD (COMMAND for W98/WME) to open a command prompt:

    NOTE: For the items below in red surrounded with < >, see comments below for the actual information content, they are value substitutions from the previous command output!

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands one at a time, followed by the Enter key:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    PING <computer_IP_address>

    PING <default_gateway_address>

    PING <dns_servers>

    PING 206.190.60.37

    PING yahoo.com

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    <computer_IP_address> - The IP Address of your computer, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.

    <default_gateway_address> - The IP address of the Default Gateway, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.

    <dns_servers> - The IP address of the first (or only) address for DNS Servers, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.


    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  7. stevewilson123

    stevewilson123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Jon,

    I'm sure, with your help, we would have solved this. But with my skill level it is taking way too much time. Thus, I'm going to exchange my standard modem for [email protected]'s wireless modem. Only $25 more. Thanks for your efforts. It was appreciated.
    steve
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/899269

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice