1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Need help!!! Applications are too big for my screen!

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Raistlfiren, Jul 14, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Raistlfiren

    Raistlfiren Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    303
    I recently downloaded a theme for my desktop and icons. I did a system restore afterwards, and now my applications are bigger than my screen. I cannot see the very top bar, where you can exit out of the program, where you can maximize, or minimize the program. Heck, I can't see that whole top bar. My icons are also going to the very top of my screen, where I can barely see them anymore. They are showing far enough for I can at least click them. What should I do about this problem?

    I also cannot even see my Internet Explorer picture, but I can still go to the Internet. Same with Control Panel, it shows up like I have to open it with another program. I don't know what I should do.

    Could it be because I deleted the folder under. C:\Windows\Resources\Explorer Bar...? There once was a file called icandy or something. Do you guys have that folder in that spot?
    Raistlin
     
  2. Jedi_Master

    Jedi_Master

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Messages:
    5,520
    Howdy Raistlfiren...

    Let's check the settings...

    Right click on a blank spot on the desktop - Properties - the Settings tab, and what is the setting for Screen resolution ?

    If lower that 800x600 slide the bar over to at least 800x600 ( or where you want to set it at, just don't go too high ), press the "Tab" key 6 times and hit enter...

    Btw, I don't have the folder Explorer Bar under C:\Windows\Resources\
     
  3. Raistlfiren

    Raistlfiren Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    303
    Thank you, Jedi Master. I got no picture/icon for the Control Panel, Internet Explorer on my desktop, and printers. There is no picture/icon for those programs and I dont know why. The icon is just a white box, like a program that doesnt know how to open itself. Though, when I click it it still goes online, to my control panel, or etc... Can you tell me how to fix this? I also was wondering if you can tell me where Spyware is located at. I have tryed using Ad-aware and Spy Bot, but they just aren't digging deep enough. One night I had three pop-ups in the morning and I was never online. You know where I could manually locate and destroy this spyware? What folders does Ad-aware and Spybot go through?
    Raistlin
     
  4. jephree

    jephree

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    218
    following my post will be instructions for the deep scan of adaware.

    as to your theme stuff you can enter your settings thru right clicking on an area of your blank desk top (or) going to control panel > display > settings > advanced

    you can try to lower the screen resolution with the "sliding bar" graphic.

    you will need to reboot your comp for changes to take place.

    you may also want to go into themes and return to default (windows xp).

    also for pop ups you want to install a fire wall.

    good luck ............ i must sleep now :eek:

    ...............................................

    download Ad-aware from: http://www.lavasoft.de/res/aaw6.exe

    Install the program and launch it.

    First, in the main window, look in the bottom right corner and click on Check for updates now and download the latest reference files.

    Next, we need to configure Ad-aware for a full scan.
    Click on the Gear icon (second from the left) to access the preferences/settings window

    1. In the General window make sure the following are selected:

    * Automatically save log-file
    * Automatically quarantine objects prior to removal
    * Safe Mode (always request confirmation)


    2. Click on the Scanning button on the left and select :

    * Scan Within Archives
    * Scan Active Processes
    * Scan Registry
    * Deep Scan Registry
    * Scan my IE favorites for banned URLÂ’s
    * Scan my Hosts file
    * Under Click here to select drives + folders, choose:
    * All of your hard drives
    Click on the Advanced button on the left and select:

    * Include additional process information
    * Include additional file information
    * Include environment information
    * Include additional object details

    Click the Tweak button and select:

    * Under the Scanning Engine:
    o Unload recognized processes during scanning
    o Include basic Ad-aware settings in logfile
    o Include additional Ad-aware settings in logfile
    * Under the Cleaning Engine:
    o Let Windows remove files in use at next reboot

    Click on Proceed to save the settings.
    Click Start and on the next screen choose Activate in-depth Scan at the bottom of the page and then choose:

    * Use Custom Scanning Options

    Click Next and Ad-aware will scan your hard drive(s) with the options you have selected.

    Save the log file when it asks and then click Finish
    When finished, mark everything for removal and get rid of it. (Right-click the window and choose Select All from the drop down menu and click Next).

    Reboot your computer.
     
  5. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Is this a new 2K installation? Did 2K EVER run correctly on this machine?
     
  6. Raistlfiren

    Raistlfiren Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    303
    This is for Windows XP. My icons are not shwoing up still for Internet, Control Panel, and Printers. I have resized my desktop and it is all better now it is just my icons.
    Raistlin
     
  7. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    I am wondering about a repair installation?
     
  8. Raistlfiren

    Raistlfiren Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    303
    I have Windows Xp not 2000, and no I haven't done a repair installation. What is a repair instalatition anyway?
    Raistlin
     
  9. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    When you boot with the XP disk, you'll have an option for a repair installation.
     
  10. Raistlfiren

    Raistlfiren Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    303
    What does this repair installation mean, does it delete My pctures and all? I have a lot of documents and games, if I do this will it delete my games or my pictures? Will it delete any documents?
    Raistlin
     
  11. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
  12. Raistlfiren

    Raistlfiren Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    303
    Okay thanks.
    Raistlin
     
  13. jephree

    jephree

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    218
    just a shot off the hip >>>>>>>>>>

    right click the program (application) & choose properties (then) customise (then) change icon

    ^_^
     
  14. Raistlfiren

    Raistlfiren Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    303
    Hey Jephree. That doesnt work, whenever I right click the internet explorer on my desktop and click on proerties, it comes up with internet options. Or if I right click on Control Panel it only has "Open" or "Explore", same for Printers.
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/250345