1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

need help computer cant find network

Discussion in 'Networking' started by ebrooklyn, Dec 24, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ebrooklyn

    ebrooklyn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    computer cant find network adabter so cant get internet can someone help me i got system xp
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,294
    First Name:
    Wayne
    What firewall / security suite or anti-virus do you currently have on the PC - or you have ever had on the PC in the past - any trial ware - like Norton, kaspersky or Mcafee or any free security suites like zonealarm, AVG , Webroot etc


    post an ipconfig /all

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all

    We would like to see the results from an ipconfig /all - post back the results in a reply here.

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

    If you do not have another PC - do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply
    Note: you will see entries named Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface: we dont need to see that information - JUST the information above those entries

    For Windows 8
    To open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop.
    http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tutorials/open-an-elevated-command-prompt-in-windows-8/
    Use Win + X and choose Command Prompt or Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.​

    For windows version, XP, Vista, W7
    Hold the Windows key and press R

    Now type CMD

    Now press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):​

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results into notepad and then automatically open the notepad and display on your screen.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results into a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will now be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy

    Now go back to the forum - goto the reply and then right click in the reply box and paste the results.
    The results from the notepad should now appear in the forum reply.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,380
    First Name:
    Terry
    What is listed under Network Adapters in Device Manager?

    What, if any, errors or warnings are anywhere in Device Manager?

    Was this computer ever able to connect to a network? If so, by ethernet, Wi-Fi or both?
     
  4. ebrooklyn

    ebrooklyn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2014
    Messages:
    29
     
  5. ebrooklyn

    ebrooklyn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2014
    Messages:
    29
  6. ebrooklyn

    ebrooklyn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG] [​IMG][​IMG]
     
  7. ebrooklyn

    ebrooklyn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2014
    Messages:
    29
  8. ebrooklyn

    ebrooklyn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    how do i get to device manager
     
  9. ebrooklyn

    ebrooklyn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    did you get it
     
  10. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,294
    First Name:
    Wayne
    none of the images are working
    try attaching them
     
  11. ebrooklyn

    ebrooklyn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2014
    Messages:
    29
     
  12. ebrooklyn

    ebrooklyn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    did u get it
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG] [​IMG][​IMG]
     
  13. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,294
    First Name:
    Wayne
    no
    To post a screen shot of the active window.

    Windows XP
    Hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application (Start> All Programs> Accessories> Paint) and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.

    Vista or Windows 7
    you can use the "snipping tool" which is found in Start> All programs> Accessories> Snipping Tool
    http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tutorials/how-to-use-the-windows-snipping-tool/

    Windows 8
    you can use the snipping tool > Open Snipping Tool (From the Windows 8 Start Screen, type "snip" and press enter.
    >Press the Esc. key.
    >go back to your Windows 8 start screen - Swipe from left or press Window Button
    >Press Ctrl+PrntScr button to use Snipping Tool
    see here
    http://www.pcadvisor.co.uk/opinion/windows/3415854/how-take-screenshot-in-windows-8/
    http://www.pcadvisor.co.uk/how-to/windows/3405830/how-take-screenshot-in-windows-8/


    To upload the screen shot to the forum, open the full reply window ("Go Advanced" button) and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    Full details are available here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot
     
  14. ebrooklyn

    ebrooklyn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2014
    Messages:
    29
     
  15. ebrooklyn

    ebrooklyn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    [/attach]
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1139900

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice