1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Need help connecting to 5ghz network

Discussion in 'Networking' started by JaST, Nov 8, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. JaST

    JaST Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Hey everyone, i've been trying to connect my pc to the 5ghz network on my NETGEAR WNDR3400 router from a Netgear Power200 Adapter. I looked into it before posting and i found out that maybe my network card doesn't support dual band? Heres my network card and its settings. I'm thinking that it doesn't support 802.11. Do i need to go and buy a usb network adapter for my pc? or is there a setting that i could enable to make it so it would work? Cheers! [​IMG]
     
  2. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,222
    First Name:
    Derek
    you can't connect wirelessly using that adaptor. The adaptor listed is an Ethernet adaptor that works via an Ethernet cable to the router & one to the computer but the connection between the 2 is via the mains circuitry

    There is no wireless connection at all.
    The 5ghz refers to a wireless connection which you are not using
    Your connection details show a wired Ethernet adaptor not any sort of wireless one
     
  3. JaST

    JaST Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    oh ok, well the situation is i want to increase the internet speed of my pc when i have it connected to the samsung tv through the adapters(1 being in the basement and the 2nd in my room with my router). Is there anyway i could do this?
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,189
    First Name:
    Terry
    "The internet speed" of your PC has nothing to do with whether it is connected to a TV. What download/upload speeds are claimed by your ISP for your service? What download/upload speeds are you now getting with the PC as measured by Speedtest.net?
     
  5. JaST

    JaST Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    When i'm connected through the router/modem upstairs i get around 30mbs and when i bring my pc downstairs and use the power adapter i only get .30mbs
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,189
    First Name:
    Terry
    Either they are bad powerline adapters or, more likely, the electrical system is bad or not setup in a way that is compatible with powerline adapters.

    Unless you can run an ethernet cable you'll need to try a wireless adapter--make sure it supports 5 GHz if that's what you want to use.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1136938

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice