1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

need help fast

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by ray67griffiths, Jan 3, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ray67griffiths

    ray67griffiths Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    hi im new to the site i have a e-systems ei3103 laptop
    the prob is i can only use it in safe mode i want to wipe eveything off and
    start again i have a disc with all the drivers on but no vista disc so
    if anyone can tell me how to go about doing this i would be most greatfull
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,180
    First Name:
    Wayne
    You may have a recovery partition available with the PC
    does it mention anything in the manual
    using F10 on boot or another key - to get to the partition

    Also vista allows you to create a recovery CD - ONCE only

    Start
    all programs,
    pc help and tools and recovery disc creation,
    you can create these disc once ONLY,
    make sure you have at least 2 blank dvds to do it with
    you can use CDs but that will need a lot more disks

    I'm not sure if you can do the above from safe mode only ....

    I'll see if i can find a manual online, i think Esystems went to gateway and then to ACER - not 100% sure on that
     
  3. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    15,775
    First Name:
    David
    etaf,
    It is NOT Vista that controls the making of the recovery DVD's, but the OEM. Vista does NOT provide the System Recovery, the OEM's do.
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,180
    First Name:
    Wayne
    Thanks for the correct DaveA, I had read on a vista site and seen it available on HP, Toshiba and Fuji machines - so assumes it was a vista function...
     
  5. ray67griffiths

    ray67griffiths Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    have not got a manul as got the laptop second hand and you are right i cant make a backup disc of vista in safe mode
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,180
    First Name:
    Wayne
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - need help fast
  1. proprboy
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    553
  2. Lrshr6
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    344
  3. Cj83
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    389
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/786237

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice