1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Need help finding a pc part

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by minameise, Jul 18, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. minameise

    minameise Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Messages:
    85
    I have an old laptop Im trying to get running,
    a Compaq Presario 700Z. I would say it is about 2000-2001

    All I need for it is the cd-drive/burner brand and model# as well as a place where they offer it affordibly.

    I contacted HP/Compaq and they keep giving me the run around and I dont even think they know what part that is. they quoted me $90 and gave me a 254121-001 number, but Im not too sure what to do with that number.

    Id really appreciate it if someone would help me find the kind of cd/burner combo drive it uses, and where i could find it.

    Also if there is a better, upgraded version of that drive that is compatible with the computer, I would love to get more info.
    Thanks in advance
     
  2. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Without doing a bunch of research on your model, I've worked on Compaq systems before, you should be able to use any standard IDE drive, unless it's a SCSI unit?
     
  3. kilowatt1

    kilowatt1

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,578
    :) I have used THIS site before with good results.


    Good luck.


    Kilowatt
     
  4. qldit

    qldit

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,390
    Good Morning minameise, I would suggest your preference be directed toward a DVD burner rather than a CD combo.

    Be careful that your selection has the same depth (length) as the one you previously had, in some cases the device can interfere with the M/B components with some short-form compaq macines.
    I suggest you require a standard IDE system device, these are common and cheap and available from New Egg or any computer supply source.

    What is your operating system, processor, memory and what other drives are fitted?
    Edit. Disregard, my apologies, I didn't realise it was a laptop.
    Qldit.
     
  5. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Hi KW, do you see any reason he/she needs to be looking for Compaq in particular?
     
  6. kilowatt1

    kilowatt1

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,578

    Hello Candy.

    It might be a little difficult to fit an IDE drive into a laptop. :D :D
     
  7. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    OOPS, I missed that too :eek:

    Looks like I'm not alone :D
     
  8. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    I swear the poster did a quick edit :D :D
     
  9. kilowatt1

    kilowatt1

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,578
    :D Yea, after your post I had to go back and re-read it again to make sure that I wasn't losing what little brain matter I have left.:eek:

    By the way, how's your "stock picking" going these days?
     
  10. qldit

    qldit

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,390
    Mine is still sozzled from a session last night!
    qldit.
     
  11. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706


    Not bad. Picked up some Tyson yesterday......at the low of the day....looking to sell by week end, hopefully $1 per share profit :D


    minameise, sorry for the short thread hijack :D We're a bunch of friends here :)
     
  12. qldit

    qldit

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,390
    Actually minameise, that exercise sounds a bit dubious, do you really need the CDROM in that machine?
    When they have expensive problems it is often better to have a large USB flashdrive and use it to transfer stuff to a different machine.
    If you need to, Windows can be reloaded using different means.
    qldit.
     
  13. minameise

    minameise Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Messages:
    85
    Oh, thats quite alright candy. Im just happy Im getting some response.
     
  14. minameise

    minameise Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Messages:
    85
    Well qldit, the problem is much deeper than this.

    The laptop is old and not running bc I need to re-instal the drivers, boot-discs etc...
    But what is holding me back from being able to do is, is the cdburner/dvd-rom drive.
    its broken and I need a new one in order to get the laptop running.

    I have another computer (the one im on), But I need an additional computer for my needs and that is why I need the new DVDrom/CDburner drive.
     
  15. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Have you tried browsing EBay?

    By the way, does the laptop boot up? What do you plan on using it for? How much ram does it have and what OS do you plan on using?

    I knew that I should have googled that puppy from the get go :D


    Is this it?

    http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,1759,1506,00.asp
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/484349

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice