Need Help On HDD not Showing up

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

nas123

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 22, 2020
Messages
7
Hi

I got a Seagate HDD in a caddy (ugreen) it was working fine. now is not showing up in disk management and i tried different computers. I also tried plug in to my motherboard and shows as unknown device. in disk management comes up as not initialized when I try initialize it it comes up with a device which does not exist was specified.
Any Ideas

Thanks for your help
 

plodr

Liz
Joined
Jun 27, 2014
Messages
22,777
Take it out of the caddy. Attach the hd using a powered adapter. That is to determine if the problem is with the caddy, the wire connecting the caddy to the computer or the hd itself.
 

nas123

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 22, 2020
Messages
7
thanks for your response i tried another caddy and cables never work, the hard disk power ups spin as normal.

the only that cause this when i plugged in to windows pc and with ask to scan or continue to with out scan. i started a scan and the clicked on cancel by accident after that it never showed again.

i tried different pc and macbook
thanks
 

Goddess-Bastet

Virginia
Joined
Apr 26, 2019
Messages
529
It sounds like chkdsk was stopped before completion so has affected the hard drive. Does the drive show under diskpart?
Start>Powershell with admin & enter:
diskpart
list disk

If it does let us know. If not then you may require third party software to see if it can recover any files on the drive.
 

nas123

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 22, 2020
Messages
7
It sounds like chkdsk was stopped before completion so has affected the hard drive. Does the drive show under diskpart?
Start>Powershell with admin & enter:
diskpart
list disk

If it does let us know. If not then you may require third party software to see if it can recover any files on the drive.

Thank you
it is not showing in list disk, i have third party app like wondershare recover it and AOMEI not even showing there,

Is there any way i can get files from it.

thank you
 

Goddess-Bastet

Virginia
Joined
Apr 26, 2019
Messages
529
I would download Macrium Reflect free to see if the drive appears within the program. If not then create their boot media, then use this to boot Windows with the external drive connected to see if this shows the drive, if it does then image the drive. If not then the drive is so corrupted that the files are most likely lost.
https://www.macrium.com/reflectfree/promo
You can try recuva:
https://www.ccleaner.com/recuva
I suspect though that this will not be able to recover the files.
 

nas123

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 22, 2020
Messages
7
I would download Macrium Reflect free to see if the drive appears within the program. If not then create their boot media, then use this to boot Windows with the external drive connected to see if this shows the drive, if it does then image the drive. If not then the drive is so corrupted that the files are most likely lost.
https://www.macrium.com/reflectfree/promo
You can try recuva:
https://www.ccleaner.com/recuva
I suspect though that this will not be able to recover the files.
it not showing, I tried in boot windows custom is not even showing there. can not believe that windows scan software killed the hard drive never scanning anything again

thank you for response
 

Goddess-Bastet

Virginia
Joined
Apr 26, 2019
Messages
529
It’s the stopping it before completion which does this. It’s why I backup all my drives.
The only option now is to clean the drive using diskpart in order to use the drive again or pay a data recovery specialist to recover the files if they’re important.
If you need the instructions for diskpart then please post back.
 

nas123

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 22, 2020
Messages
7
It’s the stopping it before completion which does this. It’s why I backup all my drives.
The only option now is to clean the drive using diskpart in order to use the drive again or pay a data recovery specialist to recover the files if they’re important.
If you need the instructions for diskpart then please post back.
yes please can i have the instruction, but the in the diskpart it don't show any signs will it work,
even if i can format there are sotfware that i can recover some files.

thank you for your help.
 

nas123

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 22, 2020
Messages
7
It’s the stopping it before completion which does this. It’s why I backup all my drives.
The only option now is to clean the drive using diskpart in order to use the drive again or pay a data recovery specialist to recover the files if they’re important.
If you need the instructions for diskpart then please post back.
I connected the hard drive to there motherboard and is shows at disk 1 online size 0b. i tredi the clean command by select disk 1 its say succeeded. bit nothing happens

in disk management it shows as disk 1 unknown not initialized when try to initialized is says a device which does not exist was specified.
 

Goddess-Bastet

Virginia
Joined
Apr 26, 2019
Messages
529
I would try clean cmd again.
Right click Start>Powershell with admin & enter
diskpart
list disk
select disk X (where X is the number of the drive you wish to clean)
Clean
exit
exit

Then go to device management & it should automatically ask if you wish to initialise the drive - choose yes. If this still fails then try third party partition software:
https://www.easeus.com/partition-manager-software/initialize-hdd-ssd-for-free.html
 

nas123

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 22, 2020
Messages
7
I would try clean cmd again.
Right click Start>Powershell with admin & enter
diskpart
list disk
select disk X (where X is the number of the drive you wish to clean)
Clean
exit
exit

Then go to device management & it should automatically ask if you wish to initialise the drive - choose yes. If this still fails then try third party partition software:
https://www.easeus.com/partition-manager-software/initialize-hdd-ssd-for-free.html
i tried that no luck even with software not showing up. i think its complete dead.

if i was to buy a same model hard drive and swap the board over will that work, even if i could get some files back.

thank you
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top