1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Need Help Reformatting and Reinstalling Win 7

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by Haza1889, Dec 21, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Haza1889

    Haza1889 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Exactly what the title says, I was directed here by someone in the 'virus and other malware removal' section. As I have a virus on my computer that's very hard to clean so I've decided to repave my system, although I'm not 100% certain of how to do that. So any help that you guys could provide would be very much appreciated.

    Also here is the TSG SysInfo if needed:

    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium, Service Pack 1, 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3770K CPU @ 3.50GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 58 Stepping 9
    Processor Count: 8
    RAM: 16279 Mb
    Graphics Card: AMD Radeon HD 7700 Series, 1024 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 114470 MB, Free - 54623 MB; E: Total - 1907726 MB, Free - 1809091 MB;
    Motherboard: ASRock, Z77 Pro3
    Antivirus: AVG Anti-Virus Free Edition 2012, Updated and Enabled
     
  2. Lance1

    Lance1

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,618
  3. Haza1889

    Haza1889 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Ok, that tells me how to install it but how do I wipe the computer first so that I can then do that?
     
  4. replay

    replay

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2003
    Messages:
    5,543
    during the install u will come to this page.......... then delete the partition the follow the prompts
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Haza1889

    Haza1889 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    So that will wipe everything off?
     
  6. replay

    replay

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2003
    Messages:
    5,543
    yes during the install it will reformat
     
  7. Haza1889

    Haza1889 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Just making sure it will wipe/reformat both of my hard drives, right? Not just the one that had Windows 7 on it?
     
  8. replay

    replay

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2003
    Messages:
    5,543
    only have the harddrive u want windows installed on connected to the motherboard............ disconnect the other........ u can wipe that one later
     
  9. Haza1889

    Haza1889 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    How do I wipe it later?
     
  10. replay

    replay

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2003
    Messages:
    5,543
  11. Haza1889

    Haza1889 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Would it be possible to either do that now or leave it plugged in? As that would make it a lot easier.
     
  12. Lance1

    Lance1

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,618
    What is on that other drive? If it is important data, leave it alone. It is not necessary to unplug the drive. During the install just point to the drive holding the Windows OS and do a clean installation.
     
  13. Haza1889

    Haza1889 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    I seem to have a problem, while reinstalling Windows 7 my screen has gone black. Now I know it can flash black a few times but this has been black for about 45 minutes. I was up to installing it and I went off to do something else, came back and it was black and still is. By the way the computer is still on, I could hold down the power button to turn it off but I don't want to screw anything up. If somebody could help thatg would great.
     
  14. replay

    replay

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2003
    Messages:
    5,543
    sometimes when u leave multiple drives attached in windows......... drive letters get screwy!!!
    so did u leave the 2 drives attached????
    maybe u should try again and this time stay with it to see at what point the screen goes black
     
  15. Haza1889

    Haza1889 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Ok, I will try that.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1081898

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice