1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

need help right now! help partitioning drive for ubuntu 7.10

Discussion in 'Linux and Unix' started by Sphinx, Mar 31, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sphinx

Sphinx Thread Starter

I will admit I'm very new to linux, so please help me!

I've read a lot about how linux uses partitions. I have a laptop with a 30GB hard drive. I want to install windows XP on it later for dual booting, so I want to leave about 16gb for that, preferably a little more.

The system is a pentium M 1.7ghz, 512MB RAM, some crappy 32MB video card.
    I guess the hard drive is SCSI because its coming up as "sda" in Gnome partitioner. I found this odd as I thought almost all home-use laptops came with IDE drives.

Anyway, I need advice on how to set up my partitions. Here are my thoughts

100MB for a /boot partition, right at the very beginning of the hard drive

The next 12GB as /root partition

Then what is this /home partition I keep reading about - is this necessary?

So then I'd have about 18GB left to install windows xp at a later time.

So can someone help explain to me what the /home partition is for? And I understand the /boot partition is where I would put the GRUB boot loader?
    Is it a good idea to make seperate partitions for TEMP directory and such - I have read about this too but have'nt looked much into it.

And so to do all this, I have an ubuntu 7.10 alternate CD (desktop edition). So I when the partition editor comes up, I must go to manual (not guided) if I want to set up these extra partitions such as /home , /tmp, etc.

Can someone help me with this tonight I'm trying to get this done by morning!

Thanks!

2. saikee

saikee

A 10Gb for "/" and 1Gb for swap will work for 100% of the Linux distros.