1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Need Help Setting Up CGI

Discussion in 'Software Development' started by CyBerAliEn, Dec 8, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. CyBerAliEn

CyBerAliEn Thread Starter

Hey,

I have a website that DOES support perl. I uploaded the file to /cgi-bin and changed it to 755 as directed. Well, when I try using the form on a page to submit, it comes up with an error saying something like it is unavailable or doesn't exist, etc...

I have never done this before, so I'm not really sure what to do. How do I get the script to work? It is FormMail.pl

Andrew

2. Rockn

Rockn

You need to change the script to meet the environment it is in and the page it is being referenced from, etc. Most premade ones tell you exactly what you need to change. Sounds like you need to get a good book on how to write CGI scripts.

3. CyBerAliEn

Hey,

No... I'm not completely stupid, I've just never been able to get any CGI scripts to work before. Either its something really complicated, or something really simple that no one bothers to address.

Right now, I got the form setup, and the perl script setup completely fine according to its README. I changed its something, don't remember what it is called, to 755 as directed. When I try testing the form, it comes up with:

The page cannot be found
    The page you are looking for might have been removed, had its name changed, or is temporarily unavailable.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Please try the following:

If you typed the page address in the Address bar, make sure that it is spelled correctly.

Open the www.cyberspacews.com home page, and then look for links to the information you want.
    Click the Back button to try another link.