1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Need help setting up video card without onboard vidoe

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by emoric, Jul 8, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. emoric

    emoric Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Messages:
    353
    Hello, I have salvaged some old computer parts in hopes of making myself another spare computer. I have set up a Gigabyte GA-6VTXE-A mobo with a Pentium 3. The motherboard does NOT have on board video so I have found a couple of fairly old agp video cards. My question is... how am I going to set up my pc if I can't get my monitor going? Its obvious that I don't have the drivers for these cards installed because I would need to be able to SEE my screen in order to do that. The monitor seems like it turns off and one with the computer but why is there nothing on the screen? Any ideas?

    What are my options? Is there any way to set up a generic driver just to get me going? If so... how if I can't see what I'm doing? What are my other options? Please let me know some ideas!

    Thank you
    - Jesse
    _________
     
  2. cmw2010

    cmw2010

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    Messages:
    327
    When you hook up your monitor and start up your pc you should see something on the screen, and when you load Windows it will install drivers for your video card, so if you are not seeing anything on your monitor then you have some other issue. With your video card plugged in and after you turn on your pc, does anything show up on the screen? Do you hear any noises when you turn it on? What all do you have hooked up when you turn it on?
     
  3. emoric

    emoric Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Messages:
    353
    No, nothing shows up on the screen. I have tried at least 4 different cards and still no go. The only hardware I have connected is a floppy, cd rom, and my video card. Its an Nvidia MX400 PCI. Yes, I know it is old but its going to be a spare.

    Any ideas? :/
     
  4. emoric

    emoric Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Messages:
    353
    bump
     
  5. cmw2010

    cmw2010

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    Messages:
    327
    What kind of memory do you have installed? I see in your first post you mention AGP cards, and your last post you mention PCI card, have you tried both types and still same problem?
     
  6. emoric

    emoric Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Messages:
    353
    Yes, I have sadly tried both, agp & pci. I'm not sure what kind of memory is installed. The only thing on the sticker is this:
    HY57V6558020B A
    9952B TC-10S

    There are 2 sticks, maybe I will try taking one or the other out.

    Any other ideas??

    -----
    Nagative, the ram swap no go. :(
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/593244

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice