1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Need help to adjust wide monitor so everything doesn't look too wide

Discussion in 'Digital Photography & Imaging' started by bunnymom, Jan 30, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. bunnymom

bunnymom Thread Starter

We have a Dell 4400 computer and had a 17 1/2" Samsung monitor that was working great until the past couple of months. (Flashing green light, and it would take a really long time for the screen to go from black to color.) We bought a new monitor, a 22 1/2" Samsung. My problem is that I am a photographer and when going to edit photos, everything is too wide and people are too fat (they don't really look anything like what the monitor is showing). I read somewhere that there is a way to change the video card so I can set the monitor to a wider setting than what the computer is currently allowing me to do (1280 x 1024 is as wide as I can go, and this monitor recommends 1920 x 1080) Can I change the video card information, and if yes, how would I do that please? I have a 20GB hard drive on the computer (the original 40GB hd died two years ago) and just installed a 160GB hd (7200) after the computer stopped recognizing the 60GB hd that was where I kept everything...thank God I had backed it all up within the past two weeks on a portable hd!)
    thanks so much!

2. wowzer

wowzer

What program do you use to view/edit with?

What is the aspect ratio of the camera you use?

I have a 23" that is the same aspect ratio as your new one 1920x1080 and the "aspect ratio" displayed is determined by the program used.

You should be able to change the monitor settings thru control panel then display.

3. Noyb

Noyb Trusted Advisor

Display Properties or maybe a video card driver.