Need help to connect 2 laptops using one air card for internet?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

daniels012

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 13, 2007
Messages
417
If I have 2 laptops, One has an aircard for internet connection.
If I connect the 2 computers via Ethernet cables, can I Bridge one laptop to the other so they can share the connection? If so, what is the process? And also, would we be able to use one printer as well?


Or if anyone has a suggestion what we can do, that would be great.
Thank You,
Michael
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,456
should be able to - what the windows version on each machine and you may need to use a crossover etherent cable not a straight cable - depends if the connectors are autosensing

you would use ICS internet connection sharing or bridge depending on windows version
 

daniels012

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 13, 2007
Messages
417
Ok, let me see.
If we have Windows 7 to an XP machine, what would we need?
If we have a Vista to a WIndows 7 machine, what would we need?
 

daniels012

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 13, 2007
Messages
417
OK, so I connect a regular ethernet cable and do one of the links you have listed and this will work with an air card. Is that correct?

I know that when setting up an aircard, you don't go through normal networking proceedure you go through the aircards setup.

Michael
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,946
OK, so I connect a regular ethernet cable and do one of the links you have listed and this will work with an air card.
Maybe!

If neither of the NICs is auto-sensing (MDI/MDIX) you need a cross-over cable. Most systems that have been sold with Vista or Windows 7 have auto-sensing NICs.

Bridging may not work, as that requires obtaining two public IP addresses from your ISP.

ICS may not work because some mobile wireless ISPs block it.
 

daniels012

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 13, 2007
Messages
417
I see.
So I am going to assume that it is most likely not going to be able to be done. We have the 2 computers together this weekend, so I will test it. Thank you for your input. If it does work over an aircard, I will let everyone here know.

Michael
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,946
I didn't mean to discourage you; just pointing out that there are no guarantees.
 

daniels012

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 13, 2007
Messages
417
No discouragement! I am always grateful for your feedback. You have helped me numerous times.

Michael
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top