Need Help with Asus K53E Running Windows 7

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Tesla77

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 28, 2013
Messages
4
So, this morning, after shutting my laptop for a little bit and coming back to it, I found myself confronted with a black screen reading "ERROR UNEXPECTED I\O PROBLEM ERROR:0x00000e9", so I tried a few things, but F8 wouldn't work so I inserted my Recovery disk and this allowed me to access the boot menu, but I cannot seem to get anything to run or boot off the disk except the system restore function. Safe Mode won't work so I can't run CHKDISK to see what the actual problem is, the little loading screen with the Windows logo on the black screen appears and then it says "LOADING WINDOWS FILES" if by this point I have hit F8, it will take me to the boot menu, but if I don't I get a background picture with the ASUS logo and an AI Recovery window asking me "Are you ready to restore this image" which will apparently overwrite my hard drive. Now, I'm reluctant to do this as I have a lot of stuff on this that isn't backed up and which I would prefer not to lose. I did drop my laptop about three months ago, and the casing was damaged, but I don't think that had that destroyed the memory, it would have taken this long for the problem to manifest itself.

If anyone can help me fix this in a way which doesn't overwrite my hard drive I'd be incredibly grateful.
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2013
Messages
24
If you happen to know the manufacturer of your hard drive, they usually make a boot disk so you can run diagnostics on the drive. See if it catches anything...

ENG
 

Tesla77

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 28, 2013
Messages
4
How do I figure out who manufactured my HD and how to get the correct boot disk?
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2013
Messages
24
You can just remove the cover from the back of the laptop to get the mfg and model of your drive. Then hit the mfg's website and download their bootable DOS disk. Run it and see what it comes up with. If the drive gets tripped in SMART mode or has bad sectors your pretty much toast unless you pay the $$ to have the drive recovered.
 

Tesla77

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 28, 2013
Messages
4
You can just remove the cover from the back of the laptop to get the mfg and model of your drive. Then hit the mfg's website and download their bootable DOS disk. Run it and see what it comes up with. If the drive gets tripped in SMART mode or has bad sectors your pretty much toast unless you pay the $$ to have the drive recovered.
Okay, so my HDD's make and model is: WDC WD6400BPVT-80HXZT3, I'm not exactly sure how find the bootable disk, I looked, but didn't see anything. Does anyone know where on Western Digital's website one can find the downloadable recovery disks?
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2013
Messages
24
Here are the links for the software diagnostics:

http://support.wdc.com/product/download.asp?groupid=702&sid=2&lang=en

You may need to burn this file (dldiag5.exe) to CD and boot from your Win7 boot disk and get to a command prompt. Insert the Western Digital CD you burned and see if you can run the diagnostics.

UPDATE: If you install the Data LifeGuard software for Windows on working computer. There is a utility where can create a boot disk and use that on your laptop.
 

Tesla77

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 28, 2013
Messages
4
Okay, I can do everything but get to a command prompt, how do I get to that? I've burned the disk, but I still can't find a windows 7 boot disk.
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2013
Messages
24
If you don't have your original Windows 7 CD, you'll have to create a bootable CD. I like to use the ultimate boot cd which contains a lot of diagnostic utilities (including WD's Data LifeGuard).

http://www.ultimatebootcd.com/download.html

Download from one of the mirror sites at the bottom of the page.

You'll need to download the .iso file and burn the image using a burning application like Roxio or Nero. Boot from this CD so you can run the diagnostics. Try running the Data Lifeguard diags from this CD first (most likely under HDD). If it doesn't catch anything, I would run the diags from the CD your created as well just to make sure.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top