1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

need help with buying a video card

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by subone, Nov 4, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. subone

    subone Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Hi guys,

    I have an Intel motherboard of model DG31PR,
    PSU with power 450 watt,
    2.98 GB of RAM,
    Screen resolution of 1024x768
    and Windows XP pro service pack 3.

    which video card should i get for this kind of PC?
    I need it so I can play the new upcoming games(Call of duty...)

    NOTE: I have a PCI Express slot and I want it to be a 1GB card and LESS than $100.
    ______________________________________________ (y)__________ (y)
    Any suggestions?
     
  2. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,949
    First Name:
    Frank
    Intel DG31PR Motherboard

    It has a PCI Express x16 slot for adding a video card.

    ----------------------------------------------------

    It supports these processors:

    Intel Core 2 Quad processor in an LGA775 socket with a 1066 MHz
    system bus

    Intel Core 2 Duo processor in an LGA775 socket with a 1333 MHz, 1066
    MHz, or 800 MHz system bus

    Intel Pentium Dual-Core processor in an LGA775 socket with an 800 MHz
    system bus

    Intel Celeron processor in an LGA775 socket with an 800 MHz system bus

    Note: It support processors with a maximum wattage of 95W.

    ----------------------------------------------------

    It supports up to 4 GB of RAM and has 2 - 240-pin DDR2 slots.

    It supports these modules:

    240-pin DDR2 PC2-6400(DDR2-800) or DDR2 PC2-5300(DDR2-667)

    ----------------------------------------------------
     
  3. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,949
    First Name:
    Frank
    You failed to mention the processor description your computer has.

    --------------------------------------------------------

    Does your computer currently have 3 GB or 4 GB of RAM, and which module speed does it have?

    --------------------------------------------------------

    Let me try to get win2kpro to assist you because he's the Intel guru here.

    --------------------------------------------------------
     
  4. subone

    subone Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    if you mean the Memory, then it has 3GB RAM, but the processor has 2.98 GB.
    You can see here:http://i43.tinypic.com/28v81gj.jpg
     
  5. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,949
    First Name:
    Frank
    It has an Intel Core 2 Duo E7300 2.66 GHz processor - which is good. (y)

    I was hoping it didn't have the older slower Intel Celeron or Intel Pentium 4 processor.

    When it comes to gaming, you want all the horsepower you can get.

    --------------------------------------------------------

    The screenshot doesn't show which speed DDR2 modules it has, so I don't know at this point if it has DDR2-800 or DDR2-667 or possibly even a slower speed module.

    If you go into the BIOS setup screen when you first start the computer, it should show you exactly how much RAM is installed and what speed they are.

    --------------------------------------------------------
     
  6. win2kpro

    win2kpro

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    11,670
    Not being a gamer I'm afraid I can't be of much help here. Someone who is actually playing the games you desire to play can give you an idea of the graphics card you need.

    Two things to take into consideration about adding a powerful graphics card is to make sure the chassis you are using has good thermal design. Equally important is to make sure your power supply output is such that under the most demanding load (for longevity and smooth operation) you should not exceed 80% of the rated output of the the power supply.
     
  7. subone

    subone Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    I saw this written in BIOS setup:
    Processor speed.............................2660 MHz
    System Buz speed...........................1066 MHz
    System Memory speed......................667 MHz

    This is a screenshot of the BIOS setup:
    http://i42.tinypic.com/s5lljb.jpg
    --------------------------------------
    I found this cool website:
    http://www.systemrequirementslab.com/cyri/
    you have to put name of the game you want(or choose it from the list) and it tells you if your pc can run it or not. And also it displays minimum video card requirements. For example: Call of duty modern warfare 3 needs a video RAM of minimum 256 MB.
     
  8. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,949
    First Name:
    Frank
    According to your BIOS setup screen, the computer has 3 GB of RAM and has DDR2 PC2-5300(DDR2-667) modules.

    The computer supports dual channel, so you really should have matching 2 GB modules in it.

    A 4 GB DDR2 PC2-6400(DDR2-800) kit (2 GB x 2) at the CRUCIAL site is only $51.99 plus shipping.

    http://www.crucial.com/upgrade/compatible-memory-for/Intel/DG31PR/list.html

    All 4 GB won't be recognized by Windows XP(32-bit), but the computer will still get the benefit of 3.25 - 3.50 of RAM and faster speed modules.

    --------------------------------------------------------

    As win2kpro already said, hard-core gaming with a powerful video card puts a big demand on the power supply and emits a lot of heat, so both need to be taken into consideration.

    Don't focus on the minimum requirements to run a game. You need to focus on the recommended requirements.

    --------------------------------------------------------
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1025445

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice