1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Need help with Ethernet

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Misterdeath02, May 10, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Misterdeath02

    Misterdeath02 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 10, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    I usually go on my computer from hour to hour for gaming. So i have my settings to keep the computer still on even when I close the lid so technically it is not in sleep mode. But the thing is randomly the Ethernet just disconnects and connects back again after 30 sec or maybe longer. I got tired of this for a month or two, so I decided to fix it. I think I updated the family controller in the device manager.
    It was working fine for a day or two but then now the Ethernet disconnects every 5 minutes and then I went to go check the family controller and it is not there. So I shut down and wait for 30 seconds and boot it up. I straight go to device manager and the family controller is there and installed to the newest version. After 5 minuets it disconnects and the driver is not there again. I click configure in the network settings and it says plug a Ethernet cord in when it’s already plugged. My computer doesn’t recognizes my Ethernet and the drivers not there. What should I do? Please help. I can’t use wireless because my game lags like crazy then. Thanks in advance. It is asus laptop btw
     
  2. plodr

    plodr

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    19,583
    First Name:
    Liz
    If you created a restore point before you started "tweaking" the family controller, restore the computer to what it was originally.
     
  3. Misterdeath02

    Misterdeath02 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 10, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    I never created a restore point.
     
  4. Misterdeath02

    Misterdeath02 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 10, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    i never created a restore point.
     
  5. plodr

    plodr

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    19,583
    First Name:
    Liz
    Then you are out of luck if you didn't create a restore point.

    Lesson to be learned: any time you "tweak" something, create a restore point before you add/ remove or change something.
     
  6. Fireflycph

    Fireflycph

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2016
    Messages:
    1,155
    First Name:
    Morten
    Well, you may not have created a restore point. That doesn't mean that your machine didn't. Go to system restore and see if there are any. Another option may be to completely delete the Nic and its associated drivers. after downloading the latest one naturally. Then remove all software associated with the Nic. Remove it in device manager. Answer "Yes' if asked to remove the driver.
    Reboot and install the latest one you just downloaded.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1209984

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice