Solved Need help with free computer

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Couriant

James
Moderator
Joined
Mar 26, 2002
Messages
41,474
that is the correct 7 digit code. Dell machine

This machine is 11 and years old and only has Windows 7 drivers available on Dells site. This also had 1TB storage (2x 500GB in Raid 0)

Hopefully the Windows OS sticker on the computer? If so, then the link I did will also have Drivers so you can install Windows 7 base and then install the drivers
 

Scofe11

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 22, 2021
Messages
22
that is the correct 7 digit code. Dell machine

This machine is 11 and years old and only has Windows 7 drivers available on Dells site. This also had 1TB storage (2x 500GB in Raid 0)

Hopefully the Windows OS sticker on the computer? If so, then the link I did will also have Drivers so you can install Windows 7 base and then install the drivers
So
IF this system had win10 previously [and it was a legit version] you do not have to purchase windows again. Simply install the new hd or ssd. Make the windows 10 install usb using the microsoft media creation tool. Boot the system with the install usb and install windows. The activation is stored on the ms servers and your system will activate itself once installed [as long as you have internet access]
I don't believe it had windows 10 on it before hand, been sitting for a long time. But I have no problem if I need to buy windows 7, but will I be able to upgrade to windows 10 after words? Or would I be able to do what you wrote with windows 7 aswell? Thanks for all the help you guys much appreciated.
 

Scofe11

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 22, 2021
Messages
22
If it has an install key on a sticker, you can use that to install win7. Do understand that win7 is EOL and is not going to receive any updates ie it is going to be a security risk.
Read Frank's guide to installing win7;
Updated! Steps For Installing And Updating Windows 7 SP1 | Tech Support Guy (techguy.org)
Since win7 is obsolete, it is not as simple as just popping in a dvd and doing an install.
Okay thank you, but I should be good to upgrade to windows 10 after that? I just dont wanna go through that whole process just to use windows 7. If I cannot use windows 10, I might just call it a loss and save my time.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
44,478
Check the support page for that system. Win10 is not a supported operating system. That means dell never tested the operating system AND does not want to waste time/money writing drivers for obsolete hardware.
In short when you use an unsupported operating system, you are a beta tester; might work fine and it might not work fine. You can try win10 and see how it works. No one can give you a definitive answer as to whether or not it will work; you need to test it and see.

FWIW I have win10 running on one system here [old asus 790fx chipset motherboard] No win10 support however it works fine. Again, you need to test and see.

An alternative would be to install linux on the system. There are numerous linux distros designed for old/obsolete hardware.
 
Last edited:

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
44,478
Just my opinion however I would not put any money into 11yr old hardware. If you can install linux [which is free] on the system, that would work however I would not put any money into this system.
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
84,052
There's more than one method to upgrade to Windows 10 for free, but there's no point in discussing that now until you have Windows 7 installed and activated in that 11-year old Dell Alienware Aurora.

On the downside, its hardware (processor, graphics, RAM, etc.) is old and slow, so even you get it up and running, you may not be happy with its speed and performance.

-------------------------------------------------
 

Scofe11

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 22, 2021
Messages
22
There's more than one method to upgrade to Windows 10 for free, but there's no point in discussing that now until you have Windows 7 installed and activated in that 11-year old Dell Alienware Aurora.

On the downside, its hardware (processor, graphics, RAM, etc.) is old and slow, so even you get it up and running, you may not be happy with its speed and performance.

-------------------------------------------------
As old as it is, I compared the cpu to my current one and it is still way better than mine hahaha I just need to get an ssd instead. But I do have the windows sticker on the system still, im going to attempt to get windows 7 and then windows 10. If it won't work I'll try the Linux, ive heard of it but never used it. Better than windows 7 I hope lol
 

Scofe11

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 22, 2021
Messages
22
To install windows 7 with that product key, what do u need to do? I've tried looking it up and all I find is burning a install to a disc. I have no problem doing that but I don't have any disc's laying around like I did 10 years ago lol, can I just go buy a windows disc from Walmart and install it from that?
 

texasbullet

Ramon
Joined
Jun 11, 2014
Messages
3,010
As old as it is, I compared the cpu to my current one and it is still way better than mine hahaha I just need to get an ssd instead. But I do have the windows sticker on the system still, im going to attempt to get windows 7 and then windows 10. If it won't work I'll try the Linux, ive heard of it but never used it. Better than windows 7 I hope lol
You don't need to install W7 first. You can just install W10 into your computer and it will automatically detect the activation key. Make sure your internet is not connected and follow on screen instructions carefully. When prompted for internet just select I don't have one and when prompted to enter activation key select "I don't have one". Once completed you can connect your internet and download updates.
Make sure you install the proper W10 either home or pro depending what version w7 you had.
 

texasbullet

Ramon
Joined
Jun 11, 2014
Messages
3,010
Also, when asked for user name you can put your name or whatever you want and for password you can leave it blank or enter a password if desired.
 

Scofe11

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 22, 2021
Messages
22
Bit of an update, I talked to Microsoft to confirm how to install windows 10. I bought a USB and a ssd to do this, im currently downloading the tool on my old pc now so let's hope it works. I have another question about the RAM slots on the alienware, it looks like there is 6 slots and there is 3 in there as of now, am I able to fill up the remaining 3?
 

Attachments

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
84,052
it looks like there is 6 slots and there is 3 in there as of now, am I able to fill up the remaining 3?
YOUR Dell Alienware Aurora originally came with 9 GB (2 GB x 3 + 1 GB x 3) of DDR3-1333 MHz RAM.
All 6 slots were originally occupied, but you say only 3 slots are now occupied?
What are the capacities and the speeds of the 3 modules currently in it?

Does it still have the Intel Core i7-920 2.66 GHz quad core processor that originally came in it?

-------------------------------------------------
 

Scofe11

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 22, 2021
Messages
22
YOUR Dell Alienware Aurora originally came with 9 GB (2 GB x 3 + 1 GB x 3) of DDR3-1333 MHz RAM.
All 6 slots were originally occupied, but you say only 3 slots are now occupied?
What are the capacities and the speeds of the 3 modules currently in it?

Does it still have the Intel Core i7-920 2.66 GHz quad core processor that originally came in it?

-------------------------------------------------
Yes ut still has the original i7 920, but the memory sticks are corsair xms3 ddr3, ill post a picture of one aswell. 20210725_143028.jpg
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
84,052
Capture.JPG

Assuming all 3 modules are identical, that desktop has 12 GB (4 GB x 3) of DDR3-1333 MHz RAM.
Because it has its original processor, adding more RAM will do nothing to improve speed and snappiness.
Your money will be better spent on buying a SSD.

---------------------------------------------------
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top