1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Need Help with Linksys Router

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Walker101B, Feb 5, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Walker101B

    Walker101B Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Messages:
    15
    I have a Linksys Router with 4 ports and cable internet. I have 3 computers, 1 Windows 98, 2 Windows XP. My router works finr with the Windows 98 and 1 Windows XP machine, but I am unable to get the other Windows XP machine to work. I have rearranged this setup in numerous ways and still cannot get the router to work with 3 computers connected. I have checked the IP Address and get the following.

    192.168.1.100
    192.168.1.101
    169.xxx.xxx.xxx

    I have tried to release and renew but cannot get a valied IP for the third computer. I have tried to force feed the following IP 192.168.1.102, but still unsuccessful. I have disabled all Firewalls and Anti-Virus Software. The router's lights appear to be working fine, will all 3 computers gaining all 3 lights, but always one computer has a in-valied IP. Please help!!!!!!!!
     
  2. Del

    Del

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    3,452
    What happens if you remove the XP maching that works and connect the one that don't? Does it and the 98 machine work?
     
  3. Walker101B

    Walker101B Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Messages:
    15
    It works. The router just won't work with 3 computers connected. One always gets a invalied IP. Doesn't matter if it's 98 or XP.
     
  4. Del

    Del

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    3,452
    Walker, please don't post the same problem twice. It's annoying and harder to help you!!:mad:
     
  5. Del

    Del

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    3,452
    Check you router setup. On mine, I can tell it how many IP addresses it can assign. If you have it set to 2, your third puter will not get an IP address
     
  6. Walker101B

    Walker101B Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Messages:
    15
    How do you do that? I don't have any software installed for the router.
     
  7. Del

    Del

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    3,452
    Look at your info for the router. On mine, I open IE and for the address I put in 192.168.0.1 and hit enter. It can be different for each router company.
     
  8. Walker101B

    Walker101B Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Messages:
    15
    But will that work when the IP Address the computer has is invalied?
     
  9. Jest8

    Jest8

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 1999
    Messages:
    243
    Just use one of the P.C's that does connect.
    As Del said,, the I.P address for some routers are different, so you might want to look in the manual for your particular router for the default I.P address. (Linksys is normally 192.168.1.1 and I think Netgear is the same)
     
  10. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    For whatever reason, it sounds like your router DHCP pool is configured with too few addresses. Be generous, allow it to have a range of about 100 addresses, which I thought was the default. What you are describing is a failure of DHCP to issue an IP address.

    There is one other possibility, though it's never supposed to happen. If the MAC address of the two computers happens to be the same, you'll never get both of them connected at one time. Like I say, this shouldn't happen with standard hardware, but I've seen it with configurable LAN hardware.
     
  11. Del

    Del

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    3,452
    Netgear uses 192.168.0.1 now.
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/117123

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice