need help with modem hookup

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

minipete

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 30, 2011
Messages
12
I recently got verizon internet and they don't come out to hook it up anymore. I am very confused as to how to hook up the modem to the main phone line. I have wireless phones but 2 places to connect lines. If I connect the modem to the main phone jack the modem with the router work fine, but I have no phone and cannot connect to my satellite which means I have two wires with no place to plug them into. When I unplug the line from the phone jack that goes to the router I can hook up the phone line and satellite in the phone jack but I have no place for the modem. Can anybody get me on the right road.
 
Joined
Oct 20, 2011
Messages
684
Which make/model version modem do you have? So I can pull up the manual and walk you through it.
 

minipete

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 30, 2011
Messages
12
I really appreciate this. It looks like it is a Actiontec and model number GT704=WGB.
 

DoubleHelix

Banned
Joined
Dec 9, 2004
Messages
24,388
You're using the terms "wireless phones" and "satellite". What kind of phone service do you have? Land line? Cell phone?
 
Joined
Oct 20, 2011
Messages
684
If it's a landline they should have provided you with a double jack adapter...If you can answer DoubleHelix's question it would make it alot easier to help.


 

DoubleHelix

Banned
Joined
Dec 9, 2004
Messages
24,388
We need to know what kind of internet service and phone service is involved here.

If it's DSL internet and a landline telephone line, you need filters on the phone lines. A simple splitter isn't going to work without that.
 

minipete

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 30, 2011
Messages
12
I have verizon but the one in the kitchen needs to plug into a jack so I quess I have a land line. The one in the bedroom has a jack but just needs to be plugged in.
 

DoubleHelix

Banned
Joined
Dec 9, 2004
Messages
24,388
Verizon is a company, not a service.

What kind of service do you have for your Internet connection and your telephone service?
 
Joined
Oct 20, 2011
Messages
684
Okay here is the link for the installation guide for that model- http://www.actiontec.com/support/product_details.php?pid=40&typ=doc you must have a filter on every landline in your home that's a must. As for the modem instructions- Are you looking to have a landline next to your PC? If so this is possible if installed correctly. Are you using a desktop or a laptop? Basically all you need to do is connect the modem to the pc via ethernet, connect the modem to the phone jack in the wall using the dual adapter.
 

minipete

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 30, 2011
Messages
12
Oh you're a saint. For the modem instructions I need, it says in the manual not to hook up a filter between the modem and phone jack so how do I hook up the phone, modem, and satellite?
 
Joined
Oct 20, 2011
Messages
684
No you do not use the filter for the phone cord connecting the modem to your landline wall phone jack. What do you mean satellite? All you need to do is install the Verizon software, then use the power cord to turn on the modem, insert the Ethernet into the modem and the PC, and connect the phone cord to the modem and the wall phone jack.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top