1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Need help with my network!

Discussion in 'Networking' started by matrim, Jan 20, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. matrim

    matrim Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    197
    This network setup works, but I'm wondering if it is the best solution. Here's the situation:
    I have two computers set up on a LAN. I have a wireless DSL modem/router(Actiontec from Qwest) with one ethernet port(the wireless is for laptops). Since I only have one port I got a hub/switch(a hub is a switch isn't it? old term or something?), then I have a cable from the DSL modem/router going to the hub, and both computers are connected to the hub.

    Does this seem like the best network solution? Download speeds are fine, but sometimes gaming is slow.
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,941
    First Name:
    Terry
    You could potentially get better results with a switch than with a hub.

    A hub "broadcasts" messages; so any message coming from the router will go to both PCs; a message coming from one computer will go to the router and to the other computer. As you can see, this results in extra messages that are just dropped once they get to their (incorrect) destination. The other problem with a hub is that it is half-duplex--you cannot have messages flowing both directions at once. And, furthermore, you get frequent collisions; e.g., both computers send a message at the same time; upon learning of the collision they each wait a random interval before resending the message.

    A switch switches each message onto the right track, er I mean, the right connection. So, for example, a message intended for the router goes only to the router and not to the other computer. It is full-duplex and doesn't get perplexed so can direct traffic to avoid collisions.
     
  3. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,941
    First Name:
    Terry
    By the way, the wireless is not just for laptops; it is for any computer with a wireless adapter.
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    For a couple of stations, I suspect the different between the hub and switch aren't the issue.
     
  5. matrim

    matrim Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    197
    Is that setup about the only way to go though? Maybe I should have the router cable put in the uplink instead of the base computer? Would a faster cable like CAT 6 work better than a CAT 5?
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Nope, there will be no difference at all.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/536896

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice