1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Need help with my VoiP Phone

Discussion in 'Do It Yourself (Not Computer-Related)' started by ep2016, Aug 1, 2019.

Advertisement
  1. ep2016

    ep2016 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2017
    Messages:
    19
    First Name:
    Michelle
    So, I've had my own VoiP phone since 2012. It's not from my ISP like I used to have back in Canada just to be clear.

    It's top quality (the phone adapter) & I use it outside the US although it's my US number.

    I NEVER had such an ongoing problem until about 3-5 months ago when I started to get intermittent static on the line.

    It's hard to describe it without vocally mimicking it. It comes & goes.

    I assumed it was my awful ISP (DSL), so I called & complained to them, but of course they claimed it wasn't them. Initially their techie came out to check & they didn't find anything, but that doesn't mean much as they are very lazy here & lie all the time.

    To get anyone else to come out means I'd have to pay if they don't find anything, & I don't have the money for that, especially if they don't find a problem.

    I did manage to get someone to look outside at one point, but they blamed the other company (see below.)

    Where I am the cable (infrastructure) & the IP provider (browsing) are 2 different companies, so you never know who's to blame & I waste lots of time having to call both.

    I never thought to call the provider, only the infrastructure. It's hard for me to remember there's 2 different companies involved.

    I did change the provider the first time & still got static.

    Anyway, after I called the VoIP company, they told me it was the hardware & nothing to do with them.

    I happened to have another brand new Panasonic semi office phone (amazingly), & so I tried that.

    Nope, STILL static. I put back the old one.

    I changed the ethernet cable that goes from the phone adapter to the modem. Nope.
    Changed the phone cord from the phone to the phone adapter.

    I FINALLY called the phone company AGAIN, & they shipped me a new one. I had to spend a lot of money shipping it overseas - sigh.

    NOPE!!!

    I realized I had a new connector between my headset & the phone (it's needed) & so I switched that out. NOPE.

    I'm now talking to the overseas distributor for the headset to replace that.

    I have noticed that the connector when I touch it in the middle where the 2 parts connect, which I NEVER do, does make a crackling noise, but my geek friend thinks it doesn't sound the same, but to me it does.

    Unless he hears them side by side, which will never happen, he can't be certain.

    I'm at my WITS end now.

    I've lost money due to this and it's very very embarrassing, not to mention I STILL don't know what the issue is.

    I did move to this new apartment in July 2018, but the problem didn't start until around 6-8 months later.

    About an hour ago I was on the phone with someone & she couldn't hear me. I could hear her no problem. That has happened before.

    She even called me back twice & she STILL couldn't hear me & I had to call her & go through the call center to reach her again which of course wastes my time.

    I'm just FURIOUS at all of this.

    I'm almost positive it's the ISP, but I signed up for the cable ISP a month ago to TEST it (they aren't a great company either) & while the static is less, I still get it & occasionally when I get calls through a website (it's my work) sometimes the phone doesn't ring, it goes straight to my voicemail, so I put it back to the DSL as that part doesn't seem to happen although I forgot to keep track of which ISP I'm using when it happens.

    I mean what are the ODDS that both ISPs would cause so many issues & for this long?

    Any ideas?

    Thank you
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 2, 2019
  2. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    62,981
    First Name:
    Chuck
    If you are hearing static type noise, rather than any kind of dropping out of the sound or choppy sound, the problem most likely lies somewhere between where the Ethernet cable attached to your VoIP adapter and your ears. The odds are next to nothing that any ISP is the cause of the static sound. Everything between your VoIP adapter and the Internet is digital and not subject to injecting analog sounds.

    EDIT: If your VoIP device uses a USB or external AC power adapter, there is a possibility that the noise is coming from the power source. I ran into such a problem a while using a cheap power adapter that had a USB port output and a standard USB cable to an MP3 player/recorder. The recording had a static background noise that went away when I tried another AC adapter.
     
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2019
  3. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    33,573
    First Name:
    James
    I agree with Chuck, the issue would not be with the ISP... that would be more of call being garbled, not static. I would also try a different wall socket too.
     
  4. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    113,966
    I've edited your post for language. Please be more careful in the future as this is a family friendly site.
     
  5. ep2016

    ep2016 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2017
    Messages:
    19
    First Name:
    Michelle
    Ok, so you are saying that static is considered an "analog" sound?

    No, the power supply isn't USB, it's electric.

    I don't think it's the power supply b/c when I got the new phone adapter, I switched it out with the new one.

    Now it is using an adapter b/c here b/c it's 220 volts here, so I will change that & see if that works, or, if that doesn't solve it, I will plug it directly into the back of the UPS instead of into the power bar which is then plugged into the UPS, but it's been plugged into that same power bar for the last almost 4 years with no issues. Other things are plugged into there also, but they aren't phones.

    And to be clear, the call is sort of dropping in the sense that yesterday she couldn't hear me at all, yet I could hear her.

    Even when she called back twice more she couldn't hear me even though the phone rang here & I could hear her.

    And that has happened before. Not often, but at least 1-2 other times.

    Thanks a ton

    I don't have any additional electrical outlets. There's only 2 in the entire room & I have tons plugged into the power bars (2) which are then plugged into the UPS.

    I don't think this is relevant, but the battery on the UPS just died on me the other day. I don't think it's relevant b/c the issue has been ongoing for around 5 months now.

    Thanks

    Sorry.
     
  6. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    113,966
    (y)
     
  7. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    62,981
    First Name:
    Chuck
    Yes, I am saying that static is an analog sound that would not be added to digitally sent information. The digital data packets include error detection information. The VoIP adapter should drop any corrupted packets, resulting in a short drop in the analog output, rather than add noise to the audio.

    By any chance did you add or change anything that is plugged into those outlets at around the time the noise started? Something like a new CFL or LED light could be radiating enough electronic noise to interfere with nearby electronics. Try unplugging everything from the UPS and outlet strips except the minimum needed to make a test phone call and also turn off any lights that may be on nearby. Then check if the static is reduced during a phone call.

    Someone not hearing you at all would make the headset or its cord the most like suspect in my mind. You did make sure that the mic was not muted on the headset or on the VoIP adapter?
     
  8. ep2016

    ep2016 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2017
    Messages:
    19
    First Name:
    Michelle
    Ok, I need a few days. I don't use the phone often.

    No, I was sitting there, hadn't touched a thing when she couldn't hear me.

    I don't touch my headset when I'm talking on it. It's just on my head LOL

    There is no mute button on this. It's not a computer headset, it's a Jabra phone headset.

    I'll have to wait until they send me a new one along with the connector that I mentioned is crackling when I touch where it connects the two parts.

    But again, I don't touch that while I'm talking, it's just handing in midair.

    If this happened when I got up & moved around which I rarely ever do, that would explain things, but I don't.

    Thanks
     
  9. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    33,573
    First Name:
    James
    Does the Jabra headset have a manual switch to make sure you are using the correct settings for your phone?
     
  10. ep2016

    ep2016 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2017
    Messages:
    19
    First Name:
    Michelle
    Yes I do actually, it's a slider & I thought about this a week or so ago while I was sleeping.

    I did try to slide it to #4, as that's what I was using before I changed the connector thingy, but it didn't change anything.

    I just tried to move it again so it's 100% lined up. We'll see if that helps.

    On another note...

    I swapped out the converter for the plug & that didn't help.

    Then I took it & plugged it into a power bar that is going directly into a 3 prong bar & then into the wall.

    Before it was plugged into a long Powerbar that was then plugged into my UPS.

    Yesterday I was on the phone for around an hour & got NO static & was sooo excited.

    We thought we figured out that it was the APC UPS that was causing the problems b/c the battery went dead & the unit never even notified me that it was dying & my website coder thought that if the unit is trying to charge & can't it may be causing interference.

    But then I was on a call just before I read your message & I got tons of static so obviously, that isn't the issue either - sigh.

    I'll see if me sliding the number just that smidgen solved the problem. Normally when it's not on the right number the person can't hear me or vice versa.

    Oh & yesterday when I first called my website coder, once again I could hear him, but he couldn't hear me. I had to call him back, I did, then the line DCed (sigh) & then I had to call him a 3rd time & then there were no more issues.

    That has to be the same similar issue I had last week (read above).

    Thanks a ton
     
  11. ep2016

    ep2016 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2017
    Messages:
    19
    First Name:
    Michelle
    Well I tried. I'm still getting static. I even tried to move it to 5 & then 3 & they couldn't hear me & vice versa, so back to 4 it is with static.

    I think the new headset/connector arrived, I won't get it until Sunday or Monday. I doubt it's that though b/c there 2 are brand new from last year. Unless they are lemons.
     
  12. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    62,981
    First Name:
    Chuck
    You had mentioned you tested with a new Panasonic phone. By any chance did that phone come with its own handset? If so, do you get the static noise with the handset/
     
  13. ep2016

    ep2016 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2017
    Messages:
    19
    First Name:
    Michelle
    Ok, I've tried the new headset & connector for a few days. Not very long calls which is the true test, but so far no static, although a few times it almost sounded like the static was about to start, but never did.

    If it really was the headset, I won't be happy, b/c I never in a million years thought it would be that since I just got a new one the year before & I lost months of my life, time thinking it was everything BUT that.

    I still have to put the old connector back to see if the static starts up again to test if it's the connector or the headset.

    As for the handset, it's not plugged in b/c the headset is. It just sits on the phone to answer or hang up.

    Thanks for all your help. I'll reach out again when I have more news. :)

    Have a lovely day.
     
  14. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    62,981
    First Name:
    Chuck
    Ok. Unplug the Jabra headset and plug in the original handset to the phone. Then make a few longer test phone calls to different people at different locations. Do you get any amount of the static noise? Does the called person hear you OK?
     
  15. ep2016

    ep2016 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2017
    Messages:
    19
    First Name:
    Michelle
    I don't have the cord for it anymore. It's long gone ever since I started using the headset years ago.

    I'm not getting static anymore, BUT some calls are STILL not coming through even though they are ringing.

    1. The other day I got a work call from a system that has a complex IVR. It never even rang here, but I know the system called me.
    2. Then my bank called me, I picked up, didn't hear anything, hung up, & 5-10 minutes later I see there's a VM.

    This isn't good.

    I thought it was that work IVR system causing the problems b/c it was only happening with them, but now that the bank called & I also didn't get the call or it did ring, but they couldn't hear me & vice versa, I have to assume it's on my end. :(

    Or it's just a big coincidence b/c I'm sure the bank also uses some complex IVR call-out system, but I've never had that issue before.

    :(
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1230874

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice