Need help with performance issues

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

theMusicMan

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 7, 2001
Messages
747
Hi All

For some reason my laptop has started to crawl... it is really slow and I can't figure out why. When I view the Task Manager and am doing nothing, the cpu is at 20% but as soon as I do anything, the cpu rises to 100% - whatever it is that I do.

If I have a few windows open, the system takes a few seconds to render the page when I flick between these windows. Even firefox takes an age to display the screen which isn't my internet connection but is the laptop performance.

What can I do to determine which application is malfunctioning and eating up my cpu cycles...

Thanks...
 
Joined
Aug 25, 2004
Messages
893
Hello...

The first thing you should do, is find out what programs are using up the 20% of your CPU. You were in the right place for that, the TASK MANAGER. Write them down and see if they are REALLY programs or services that should be running.

Actually, your best bet would be not to have any programs, except services and auto-start programs open while view the TASK MANAGER. It will display what services or programs use what percentage of your CPU usage.

Also, what operating system are you running? Windows XP Pro?

It is pretty normal for your processor usage to go up to 100% for a short period of time when opening programs. However, if the movement of the mouse alone makes it go up to 100%, then you should...

- run an online virus scan www.symantec.com or www.trendmicro.com
- run some type of spy and adware program. Many free ones on the net.
- run Hijaak This and post your log file in here for us to review.

That is where I would start.

Hope this helped a little.
 

theMusicMan

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 7, 2001
Messages
747
OK pinntech...

I am running a full virus scan now (am on my other PC), I have already run Adaware and all was fine, I will run Hijackthis and post the log in a short while... thanks for prompt reply.
 

theMusicMan

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 7, 2001
Messages
747
Here's the hijackthis logfile...

Logfile of HijackThis v1.97.7
Scan saved at 13:23:48, on 03/09/2004
Platform: Windows XP SP1 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
C:\Program Files\McAfee\McAfee VirusScan\Avsynmgr.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\CTsvcCDA.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\crypserv.exe
C:\Program Files\WS_FTP Pro\ftpsched.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\GEARSEC.EXE
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\VS7Debug\mdm.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\nvsvc32.exe
C:\Program Files\McAfee\McAfee VirusScan\VsStat.exe
C:\Program Files\McAfee\McAfee VirusScan\Vshwin32.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Network Associates\McShield\Mcshield.exe
C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
C:\Program Files\McAfee\McAfee VirusScan\Avconsol.exe
C:\Program Files\McAfee\McAfee VirusScan\VsStat.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\RunDll32.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\pctspk.exe
C:\PROGRA~1\mcafee\SPAMKI~1\spamkiller.exe
C:\PROGRA~1\mcafee.com\agent\mcagent.exe
C:\Program Files\WS_FTP Pro\ftpqueue.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\DSentry.exe
C:\Program Files\Dell\AccessDirect\dadapp.exe
C:\Program Files\Creative\Sound Blaster\Surround Mixer\CTSysVol.exe
C:\Program Files\Apoint\Apoint.exe
C:\Program Files\Messenger Plus! 3\MsgPlus.exe
C:\Program Files\Dell\AccessDirect\DadTray.exe
C:\Program Files\iTunes\iTunesHelper.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\ctfmon.exe
C:\Program Files\Microsoft ActiveSync\WCESCOMM.EXE
C:\Program Files\McAfee\McAfee Shared Components\Instant Updater\RuLaunch.exe
C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office\OSA.EXE
C:\Program Files\iPod\bin\iPodService.exe
C:\Program Files\Apoint\Apntex.exe
C:\Program Files\MSN Messenger\msnmsgr.exe
C:\Program Files\McAfee\McAfee VirusScan\VsMain.exe
C:\Program Files\McAfee\McAfee VirusScan\AlogServ.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\taskmgr.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\wuauclt.exe
C:\Documents and Settings\John\My Documents\My Downloads\HijackThis.exe

R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.google.co.uk/
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://www.euro.dell.com/countries/uk/enu/gen/default.htm
R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.euro.dell.com/countries/uk/enu/gen/default.htm
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings,ProxyServer = 62.255.64.5:8080
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Connection Wizard,Shellnext = http://www.euro.dell.com/countries/uk/enu/gen/default.htm
N3 - Netscape 7: user_pref("browser.startup.homepage", "http://www.google.co.uk"); (C:\Documents and Settings\John\Application Data\Mozilla\Profiles\default\wiptipnq.slt\prefs.js)
N3 - Netscape 7: user_pref("browser.search.defaultengine", "engine://C%3A%5CProgram%20Files%5Cmozilla.org%5CMozilla%5Csearchplugins%5Cgoogle.src"); (C:\Documents and Settings\John\Application Data\Mozilla\Profiles\default\wiptipnq.slt\prefs.js)
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 5.0\Acrobat\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.ocx
O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\System32\msdxm.ocx
O3 - Toolbar: McAfee VirusScan - {ACB1E670-3217-45C4-A021-6B829A8A27CB} - C:\Program Files\McAfee\McAfee VirusScan\VSCShellExtension.dll
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [VirusScanMSC] "C:\Program Files\McAfee\McAfee VirusScan\VsStat.exe" /EMBEDDING
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [MCUpdateExe] C:\PROGRA~1\mcafee.com\agent\mcupdate.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SbUsb AudCtrl] RunDll32 sbusbdll.dll,RCMonitor
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [PCTVOICE] pctspk.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [nwiz] nwiz.exe /installquiet
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvCplDaemon] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINDOWS\System32\NvCpl.dll,NvStartup
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [MSKExe] c:\PROGRA~1\mcafee\SPAMKI~1\spamkiller.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [MCAgentExe] c:\PROGRA~1\mcafee.com\agent\mcagent.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ftpqueue] C:\Program Files\WS_FTP Pro\ftpqueue.exe -tray
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [DVDSentry] C:\WINDOWS\System32\DSentry.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [DadApp] C:\Program Files\Dell\AccessDirect\dadapp.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [CTSysVol] C:\Program Files\Creative\Sound Blaster\Surround Mixer\CTSysVol.exe /r
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Apoint] C:\Program Files\Apoint\Apoint.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [MessengerPlus3] "C:\Program Files\Messenger Plus! 3\MsgPlus.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [iTunesHelper] C:\Program Files\iTunes\iTunesHelper.exe
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [ctfmon.exe] C:\WINDOWS\System32\ctfmon.exe
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [H/PC Connection Agent] "C:\Program Files\Microsoft ActiveSync\WCESCOMM.EXE"
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [McAfee.InstantUpdate.Monitor] "C:\Program Files\McAfee\McAfee Shared Components\Instant Updater\RuLaunch.exe" /STARTMONITOR
O4 - Global Startup: Office Startup.lnk = C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office\OSA.EXE
O8 - Extra context menu item: Download All Files by HiDownload - C:\PROGRA~1\HIDOWN~1\HDGetAll.htm
O8 - Extra context menu item: Download by HiDownload - C:\PROGRA~1\HIDOWN~1\HDGet.htm
O9 - Extra button: HiDownload (HKLM)
O12 - Plugin for .spop: C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\Plugins\NPDocBox.dll
O16 - DPF: {02BF25D5-8C17-4B23-BC80-D3488ABDDC6B} (QuickTime Object) - http://www.apple.com/qtactivex/qtplugin.cab
O16 - DPF: {166B1BCA-3F9C-11CF-8075-444553540000} (Shockwave ActiveX Control) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/director/sw.cab
O16 - DPF: {4ED9DDF0-7479-4BBE-9335-5A1EDB1D8A21} (McAfee.com Operating System Class) - http://bin.mcafee.com/molbin/shared/mcinsctl/en-gb/4,0,0,72/mcinsctl.cab
O16 - DPF: {6414512B-B978-451D-A0D8-FCFDF33E833C} (WUWebControl Class) - http://v5.windowsupdate.microsoft.c...ls/en/x86/client/wuweb_site.cab?1092252326838
O16 - DPF: {A8658086-E6AC-4957-BC8E-7D54A7E8A78E} (SassCln Object) - http://www.microsoft.com/security/controls/SassCln.CAB
O16 - DPF: {A8F2B9BD-A6A0-486A-9744-18920D898429} (ScorchPlugin Class) - http://www.sibelius.com/download/software/win/ActiveXPlugin.cab
O16 - DPF: {C2FCEF52-ACE9-11D3-BEBD-00105AA9B6AE} (Symantec RuFSI Registry Information Class) - http://security.symantec.com/sscv6/SharedContent/common/bin/cabsa.cab
O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab
O16 - DPF: {FA9740A2-5802-42E2-B509-81186EEB3C42} (WABControl Class) - https://www.linkedin.com/cab/wabctrl.cab
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2004
Messages
26
Start --> Run --> MsConfig --> Selective Startup --> Startup Tab

Clear out as many of those checkboxes as possible. Search for the filename on google if you're unsure what it does.

You have a lot of flotsam on your laptop
 
Joined
Aug 25, 2004
Messages
893
Hello...

Well, I don't really see anything that is abnormal or threatening in your HJT log file. The only thing that even bothers me a little bit, is this...

C:\WINDOWS\System32\RunDll32.exe

However, it is usually a legitamite system process. However, if it acts up, kill it.

However, with everything that you have running, I do have to ask how much memory you have in your PC. Look on your performance tab of the task manager and see how much memory is being used too.

Watch your processes and see which one seems to be using up most of your CPU processing time.

Also, I am not a big fan of McAfee... It just seems that their AV software likes to eat up a lot of the CPU speed for some ungodly reason. That is just my opinion on their software. I try to stick with either Norton or TrendMicro.

I actually compared McAfee to Norton on two duplicate, I do mean exact, PC's. The one with McAfee was about 30% slower than the one with Norton installed.

You really do need to follow ReidCorbett's suggestion and get your STARTUP cleaned up a little. That would help a lot. If you don't have 512MB of memory in your system with all that running, you are going to run slow.
 

theMusicMan

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 7, 2001
Messages
747
I have discovered what the issue was with my laptop.... it was a temperature issue. I had the laptop on a not well ventilated work surface and it meant that things got somewhat hot around here....:)

I have installed some temperature monitoring and control software that allows me to control at which temperature the fans cut in... all is working fine now...

Thanks for all the advice.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top