1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Need help

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by DimwittedNoob, Nov 1, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. DimwittedNoob

    DimwittedNoob Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition, Service Pack 2, 32 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 2.53GHz, x86 Family 15 Model 3 Stepping 3
    Processor Count: 1
    RAM: 247 Mb
    Graphics Card:
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 19085 MB, Free - 8110 MB;
    Motherboard: MICRO-STAR INTERNATIONAL CO., LTD, Gamila/Giovani/Neon series
    Antivirus: None

    Planning on getting this computer cleaned out and asking the guy to install somethings for me.Should I get some of these things? just need your advice on what and what not to get.

    1-upgrade sp2 to sp3-can he do this?
    2-upgrade windows movie maker-I have the same version that comes with windows xp.
    3-internet explorer 8-I originally had 6 because it keep with it then I ask him to upgrade it to 8.The viruses is causing exploere to close alot everyday.Should I keep 8 or go with something else? what might be that something else?
    4-get antivirus.He installed McAfee Security Scan Plus ree trail on my computer, i heard anti virus can cause your computer to be slow.what antivirus should I get?
    5-install direct x 11-I don't know if direct x is safe,don't even know if this computer has direct x.
    6-upgrade microsoft office word 2003 to 2010

    If there is anything you think I need let me nkow, thanks in advance.
     
  2. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    77,767
    1. yes, he can, and yes, you should.
    2. No clue. Would imagine it would be included in an service pack.
    3. IE8 is fine. You can also play around with firefox.
    4. Definitely get AV. I'd avoid Mcaffee, as you have to pay for it, and go with microsoft security essentials.
    5. direct x is good for some web apps.
    6. you will need to purchase a new copy of office to do that. If you are happy with 2k3, no need to change. If you can't afford it, try open office.
     
  3. Lozzy-loz

    Lozzy-loz

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    632
  4. LagunaGTO

    LagunaGTO Account Closed

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    139
  5. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,245
    First Name:
    Cody
    Actually, that RAM count is correct. It's likely one DIMM of 256MB which is the minimum requirement for Windows XP.

    In response to the questions:
    1) Yes, and it should be done as soon as possible.
    2) That version stays with Windows XP throughout every service pack. If you want to upgrade it, you may be able to do so, but it depends if the new ones work on XP.
    3) I prefer Google Chrome or Firefox over IE8, but there really isn't a huge difference with any of them.
    4) Microsoft Security Essentials or Avast! Antivirus
    5) It's safe and is good to have installed for web browsing.
    6) Not really needed, no.
     
  6. Maverickz

    Maverickz

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Messages:
    48
    The ideas presented by others are good. The one thing I want to mention is the web browser. I recommend everyone use Firefox with the NoScript plug in. NoScript turns off all scripting in your web browser (which is the #1 attack vector for viruses and malware) by default and then you can enable the scripting on a domain by domain basis. If you only enable what you absolutely have to for each web site you regularly visit, this will make you 100 times more resistant to attacks. Of course if you go bad websites and enable all of the scripting for everything then it won't help.

    Properly using Firefox+NoScript is like rolling through a battlefield in a tank, while going to the same sites using IE8 would be like walking through the battlefield wearing damp toilet paper for protection.
     
  7. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,927
    First Name:
    Frank
    What's the model name and model number of that HP?

    What's the product number(P/N) on the sticker?

    --------------------------------------------------------
     
  8. DimwittedNoob

    DimwittedNoob Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    14

    No clue, don't even think there is sticker on this.Thanks for the advice.I was thinking of getting more ram because when I tried using replay video capture on no$gba emulator it causes the game to be slow, i heard this was caused because I need more ram.How much ram should I get? I also need more diskspace.I had 10gb when I got xp but after the virus it dropped to 8gb.I have to kep using ccleaner because the cleaner on this doesn't do the job right.How much diskspace should I get? can he do that?

    Here is what I will let him do.
    1-sp3
    2-keep the version on winodws movie maker.I only wanted a new one because I hate seeing outdating sofwares and this version doesn't have a slowmotion/fastmotion effect and I can't add my name to a video like avs.I tried avs, it is slow on my computer.Are there any plugin for wmm, that do those tihngs?
    3-keep internet explorer 8-I just am nervous to get firefox, heard it has problems, alos heard some sites don't work probably on it and don't most site need scrpit?
    4-install Microsoft Security Essentials.
    5 direct x 11
    6-install language pack-When I go to certain sites like chinese or japanese, it says in order for it to display property i need chinese simplified,is this necessary, do i need it? should I get it?
     
  9. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,927
    First Name:
    Frank
    According to your computer specs, that computer is a Hewlett Packard(HP).
    There should be a model name(such as Pavilion) and a model number embossed in the case.

    You need to increase the amount of RAM to at least 512 MB, but preferably to 1024 MB(1 GB).
    As long as it has only 256 MB, it's going to run like a snail, no matter how much performance tweaking you do.

    ---------------------------------------------------------
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1025002

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice