1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved Need help!

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by hater4life1, Sep 2, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. hater4life1

    hater4life1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    i installed a used hdd into my dell inspiron 15 7668 but am not sure how to get it work in unison with the m2 ssd
     
  2. lunarlander

    lunarlander

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    9,376
    Most people install Windows onto the SSD and use the slower HDD for storage, like music, photos and movies.
     
  3. hater4life1

    hater4life1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    how would i do this
     
  4. lunarlander

    lunarlander

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    9,376
    You will need to re-install Windows, choosing the SSD to install to. Do you have a Windows 10 DVD or USB memory stick ?
     
  5. hater4life1

    hater4life1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    the laptop came with a ssd i installed the hdd so woundn't it already be in the ssd?
     
  6. lunarlander

    lunarlander

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    9,376
    Then there is nothing you need to do. Just install the HDD and you should be good to go.
     
  7. phillpower2

    phillpower2

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2016
    Messages:
    539
    Hello hater4life1,

    Is the new HDD detected in the BIOS or Windows 10 Disk Manager and is the HDD out of the box new.

    To check in the BIOS tap F2 when restarting the computer.

    To check in Disk Manager, see below;

    · Right click This PC > Manage > Disk Management.

    · Click Start Menu and then type Disk Management to search.

    · Click Start Menu and type cmd to open command line and then input compmgmt.msc and then click Enter.
     
  8. hater4life1

    hater4life1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    yes it was detected and it is a used hard drive
     
  9. hater4life1

    hater4life1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    thanks for your help
     
  10. phillpower2

    phillpower2

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2016
    Messages:
    539
    You don`t say where the HDD was detected, as in the BIOS and Windows etc and the following is for info only atm;

    If the HDD is detected in the BIOS, a Seagate HDD will begin with the letters ST and a Western Digital HDD will begin with WD, other brands vary and please note that any mention of a HDD in the Boot sequence that is not labelled with such letters is only the boot order and not the BIOS detecting the presence of a working HDD.

    As the HDD is used we need to know if you are certain that the HDD is known to be in good working order.
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1195706

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice