1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Need Help!!!!

Discussion in 'Digital Photography & Imaging' started by doogdoog, Oct 1, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. doogdoog

    doogdoog Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2001
    Messages:
    449
    Aloha,
    Whenever I scan pictures to my HD it goes ok to the proper folder. When I click on the file, it brings up my profile manager (Netscape 7.1) and then I have to click on Start Netscape 7.1 and then it brings up the picture. I noticed that the icon has a small n on the upper left hand corner so it must mean netscape. Is this normal? Why does it have to open in netscape? Help!

    Mahalo,
    doogdoog
     
  2. kiwiguy

    kiwiguy

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    17,584
    It doesn't "have to" open in Netscape.
    Its just that the file type has been associated with Netscape.

    Hard to give specific advice as don't know what operating system you are using but, on the basis its Windows of some sort, right clik one of these files and setect "Open with".

    If that option is not available with a right click, then hold down Shift as you do it.

    You should be presented with a range of programs, if the one you want is not there select "choose program" and navigate to the program you want.

    If you then tick the box "Always use this program" you will have associated the file with the new program.
     
  3. doogdoog

    doogdoog Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2001
    Messages:
    449
    Aloha Kiwiguy, thanks for the reply and I tried right clicking and also using the shift and right click but I don't see that option. A window comes up but there isn't any option to change or open with. I am using Win 98 sec edition and this is a real pain. I tried pulling out my cable to the router to see if it needs the connection to come up but it still works. It looks like it is somekind of Netscape thing so if you have any other suggestions, please let me know.

    Mahalo,
    doogdoog
     
  4. slipe

    slipe

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2000
    Messages:
    6,832
    With Win9x/ME you have to first highlight the file and then Shift+right click to get the “Open With” command.
     
  5. doogdoog

    doogdoog Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2001
    Messages:
    449
    Aloha,
    Thanks guys! I tried the right click with shift earlier but didn't notice the open with. It looked the same as if you just right clicked so I missed it. Thanks again.

    Mahalo,
    doogdoog
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/168738

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice