need info on cloning HD

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

cybernia_nyc

I had a laptop and the motherboard fried. The HD is still fine. What I would like to do is clone the HD and install it on an older desktop I have so I don't have to hassle re-installing all my programs etc on the desktop. The OS is Win7

I've never done this before so I have a few questions:

1. Will it work if the OS is tied to another brand and it's from a laptop going to a desktop?

2. If it is possible, can I hook up the old HD via usb and clone it that way?

2.Since the newer version of MS OSes seem to be tied to the hardware, will that make a difference? Will it work? Will it ask me for an authorization code and will MS give me one if I call and ask?

Thanks

If the product key sticker on the laptop has OEM on it you cannot transfer the OS, it is permanantly tied to the laptop and would be impossible to activate on another PC.

cybernia_nyc

Thanks. I would imagine it does since it came already loaded. That's a drag. I thought I had a brilliant idea. :(

Yup, it's daylight robbery in my opinion, you pay for the licence in the price of the PC and then you can't move it on to the next one when the machine is trashed.

May be one day a manufacturer will have a brainwave and start supplying PC's with no OS installed, just supplied with a drivers disc, then you can install your own copy and only have to buy the licence once.

cybernia_nyc

I agree, Remember the days when when you bought something you actually owned it? And, they offered a decent warranty, not this one-year crap. Think about it, tech companies are basically saying their products are so shoddy they won't guarantee them for more than a year. Incredible.

DoubleHelix

Banned