1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Need input about Morphine

Discussion in 'Random Discussion' started by pyritechips, Oct 3, 2003.

Advertisement
  1. pyritechips

pyritechips Gone but Never Forgotten Thread Starter

First Name:
    Jim
    As some of you may know, my Dad is in an advanced stage of terminal lung cancer: small cell extensive. Of course a major problem is the constant pain. He has 2 different scripts of morphine to deal with it.

One script is for 5 mg and the other is 15 mg. His dosages are:

Morning: 2 x 15 mg.

Evening: 2 x 15 mg.

In between he can have 1 x 5 mg. up to 3 consecutive hours.

Question 1: How "heavy" are these doses, as I have no experience with them. They make him feel dopey, and he says "slow".

Question 2: How much and how often can morphine be taken before it becomes addictive? How will I know he is really in pain; ie. he needs the drug more than he need relief?

Any info on cancer and the effects of morphine is appreciated. And please don't post links; I have plently of literature already but what I want is personal experiences.

Thanking you in advance,
    ~Jim

2. CyBerAliEn

CyBerAliEn

Well I will attempt to say what I can best recall from my memory when my grandfather was dealing with cancer...