1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Need Knowledge on Digital Video Terms and Specifications

Discussion in 'Digital Photography & Imaging' started by Alex Ethridge, Apr 25, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Alex Ethridge

Alex Ethridge Thread Starter

I am an analytical person and I am thinking about digital video and I have no idea how these things are rated. I have no idea what kinds of digital files they make and what native formats they are stored in. I do know a bit about still photography and the fact that the larger the image the better; but, I have no idea how this knowledge could be translated into something I could understand about digital video.

I also have no idea how light gathering capabilities are translated from video tape-type camers to digital video cameras. In older video tape cameras, light gathering capabilities were rated in Lux; but, I understand this isn't a term used in digital video.

Some people envy me my knowledge of the craft of still film photography; but, this goes only so far in digital movies and doesn't give me any knowledge about digital video equipment and terms used in its specifications, what the terms mean and how they translate into something I can understand.

So, I guess I need an education; but, I don't know where to start.

For instance, still still cameras are rated in Megapixels. What is the corresponding rating for video. Do some digital video cameras produce larger frame sizes? Example: I have a still camera that will produce AVI files at 30 frames per second and 640 x 480. What numbers can I expect from a digital video camera?

Do all digital video cameras store their files natively in AVI format? If some do and some don't, what is the most desirable format?