1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

need ram advice

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Please_help, Dec 9, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Please_help

    Please_help Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    20
    i need more ram and i hav 2 spare ram slots on my motherboard. i was wondering if i just put the new ram in one of the slots and the comp will do the rest. i also wanted to now if i should get the same brand of ram as my other one. and if this
    "RAM 256MB SD

    256MB PC133 Hyundai Chipset, Non ECC, $89 Electronic Product Warehouse," is alright (its $89 australian).

    tnx for any help.
     
  2. LadyLisa

    LadyLisa

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2000
    Messages:
    1,995
    Yes, once you add the new RAM and turn on the computer it should recognise it. As for getting the same brand, if you're happy with it then do it.
     
  3. Please_help

    Please_help Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    20
    thanks for ur help LadyLisa. :D
     
  4. LadyLisa

    LadyLisa

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2000
    Messages:
    1,995
    You're welcome and be careful putting it in, if you push too hard you could damage it.
     
  5. john_waldrum

    john_waldrum

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    226
  6. kramnnim

    kramnnim

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2001
    Messages:
    489
    He said $89 Australian, which would be around $45US
     
  7. $teve

    $teve

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2001
    Messages:
    9,396
    and our ram is soooo cheap here.........256meg strip is around £45
    thats $90 australian and about $70 US.............this is rip-off britain for ya.:mad:
     
  8. LadyLisa

    LadyLisa

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2000
    Messages:
    1,995
    $teve

    you ever go to any of those computer shows they have in Trafford Park? You can get it a lot cheaper at a place like that.

    :)
     
  9. $teve

    $teve

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2001
    Messages:
    9,396
    now lisa............did i say i PAID £45 ???;)
    im just having a ***** fit.........maybe theres someone looking in and is thinking "he`s right,lets bring the prices down":eek:
    slap me,i need to wake up:D
     
  10. $teve

    $teve

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2001
    Messages:
    9,396
    and ............just so`s you know......the ***** spelled b i t c h
    not what you wre thinking.:rolleyes:
     
  11. LadyLisa

    LadyLisa

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2000
    Messages:
    1,995
    $teve, I wasn't thinking anything of the sort.......... LOL ;)

    And cheaper prices is always nice :D
     
  12. Please_help

    Please_help Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    20
    if anyone nows where a cheap place to buy ram in melbourne, australia is id be very grateful.
     
  13. volrathxp

    volrathxp

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    135
    haha losers... ram here in good old day tone ohio ranges from 5 - 6 bucks for pc133 64mb to 27 bucks for 256 mb pc133 and about 50 - 60 for 512 mb. ddr is still kind of expensive as 1 gb ddr pc2100 is 393 bucks. but still cheap!!!!!!!!

    :)

    volrathxp
     
  14. ButchS

    ButchS

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    3
    Hi first post on this forum. I have three pc100 chips 64 meg(unknown Brand) 32(UB) and a 256 micron. I was wandering if if could arrange them for optimal performance or if it was all done automatic i only have three memory slots. Thanx
    :)
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/61184

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice