need ram advice

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Please_help

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 31, 2001
Messages
20
i need more ram and i hav 2 spare ram slots on my motherboard. i was wondering if i just put the new ram in one of the slots and the comp will do the rest. i also wanted to now if i should get the same brand of ram as my other one. and if this
"RAM 256MB SD

256MB PC133 Hyundai Chipset, Non ECC, $89 Electronic Product Warehouse," is alright (its $89 australian).

tnx for any help.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2000
Messages
1,995
Yes, once you add the new RAM and turn on the computer it should recognise it. As for getting the same brand, if you're happy with it then do it.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2000
Messages
1,995
You're welcome and be careful putting it in, if you push too hard you could damage it.
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2001
Messages
9,396
and our ram is soooo cheap here.........256meg strip is around £45
thats $90 australian and about $70 US.............this is rip-off britain for ya.:mad:
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2000
Messages
1,995
$teve

you ever go to any of those computer shows they have in Trafford Park? You can get it a lot cheaper at a place like that.

:)
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2001
Messages
9,396
now lisa............did i say i PAID £45 ???;)
im just having a ***** fit.........maybe theres someone looking in and is thinking "he`s right,lets bring the prices down":eek:
slap me,i need to wake up:D
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2001
Messages
9,396
and ............just so`s you know......the ***** spelled b i t c h
not what you wre thinking.:rolleyes:
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2000
Messages
1,995
$teve, I wasn't thinking anything of the sort.......... LOL ;)

And cheaper prices is always nice :D
 

Please_help

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 31, 2001
Messages
20
if anyone nows where a cheap place to buy ram in melbourne, australia is id be very grateful.
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2001
Messages
135
haha losers... ram here in good old day tone ohio ranges from 5 - 6 bucks for pc133 64mb to 27 bucks for 256 mb pc133 and about 50 - 60 for 512 mb. ddr is still kind of expensive as 1 gb ddr pc2100 is 393 bucks. but still cheap!!!!!!!!

:)

volrathxp
 
Joined
Dec 11, 2001
Messages
3
Hi first post on this forum. I have three pc100 chips 64 meg(unknown Brand) 32(UB) and a 256 micron. I was wandering if if could arrange them for optimal performance or if it was all done automatic i only have three memory slots. Thanx
:)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top