Tech Support Guy banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

Need Recommendation for Music Library Application

2K views 16 replies 5 participants last post by  anamandy 
#1 ·
I’m looking for a way to catalogue all my music cds. What I need is a program that will look up the album so I don’t have to type anything, be able to organize it, and add the album art to ‘my music’ folder. I also want to be able to load my mp3 player (a recent birthday gift) from my music collection. I’m not interested in a radio function or purchasing music downloads. Anyone have any suggestions besides Music Match which I presently use the basic version. Music Match was recently purchased by Yahoo and from what I hear it’s a real downgrade. Also, I prefer if it were free shareware.
Anyway, any suggestions would be appreciated. There is one player that I’ve found but as I’m not technical I don’t understand half the bells and whistles. If anyone would know if this would suit my situation you can read about it here - http://downloads.zdnet.com/download.aspx?docid=194977.

Also, what is winamp. I know it has something to do with MP3 players but is it also a library? If it has radio can I get am stations too? I like talk radio but don’t always have time to listen to it. I would love to be able to upload programs to listen at my convenience. Thanks for any info.
P.S. This is for my Laptop which has XP OS.

#2 ·
I thought MusicMatch 10 was the best music database software around, but then Yahoo bought it, stopped all support for it and went with their own version. Yahoo keeps saying that it's going to 'combine the best parts of MusicMatch and the Yahoo Music Jukebox', but it's been a couple years now and the product they have now is pretty bad compared to MusicMatch.

A lot of people who had MusicMatch and got fed up with Yahoo have started using MediaMonkey. It's probably the closest thing out there to the old MusicMatch.