need recommendations for a mid-range motherboard and RAM

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

galkim

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 30, 2012
Messages
98
hey all!
i wanna upgrade my current system with a new motherboard and some new fast RAM.
i was thinking about getting new DDR3 6GB of ram.

can you guys recommend a solid motherboard then can support my current components:

-AMD phenom II 920 (2.8GHz)
-Sapphire HD 6850
-OCZ stealthXstream 600W
-AEROCOOL S9 case

thanks all!
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
Why do you need to upgrade your motherboard? What do you have now? Simply switching to DDR3 will give you little noticeable improvement in performance, not likely to be worth the cost.
 

galkim

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 30, 2012
Messages
98
its a long long story -
i have now an Asus m4a78-e mobo, and 4gb of kingston hyperX RAM

for a long time ive been having a weird problem:
every time i would set my system into sleep mode, when i wanted it to come back, the power went on but there was no display at all. nothing would help to bring the display back. the same thing would happen at boot when i try to power up the system after i turned it off.
i thought that i had a major problem in one of the components and almost replaced the whole thing,
but then i found out something even weirder:

whenever i turn the system on, whether from sleep mode or not, if i quickly switch the power button (on my psu) quickly off and then on, the system would start without a problem.

weird, right?

anyway, i thought that my problems were solved but after 3 years i've been getting frequent system freezes, until i couldnt even bring the system on even with my learnt "trick" , and i thought that the problem might be in my GPU (sapphire HD4870) so i tried it on a friend's system - and it failed there as well, so i replaced my gpu card - only to find out after a week with my new gpu card that although i get no freezes, now the old problem with the sleep mode persists....

that is my story (drumroll) :)

so i thought that the problem probably is in the mobo
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
whenever i turn the system on, whether from sleep mode or not, if i quickly switch the power button (on my psu) quickly off and then on, the system would start without a problem.

weird, right?
That suggests a power supply problem and it's more dangerous than weird.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,442
Turning the pw supply OFF and back ON then the system boots is very indicative of a pw supply problem. What happens is the capacitors in the pw supply are not up to pw ON the board; when you switch it OFF then ON, the caps are fully charged.

Post the exact pw supply you have installed. Note 500W does not tell us much; post the exact make and model ie corsair xxx123 or whatever.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,442
Before spending any money, there are a few things you can do;

1 I checked and there is a bios update that addresses sleep issues. Do you have the latest bios installed?

2 Your board supports asus probe so I would do the following. Download probe and install. Now post a screenshot of probe. Next download prime95 and run prime95. Post another screenshot of probe running while you have prime95 running.

This will check your voltages both under a no load condition and when the system is fully loaded.

Here is the support page for your board.
http://www.asus.com/Motherboards/AMD_AM2Plus/M4A78E/#download
 

galkim

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 30, 2012
Messages
98
already done that...
posted that problem 2 years ago in here...
ive been told that my voltages are fine
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,442
A LOT happens in two years; parts wear out. Up to you.

Gee the brakes on my car were fine two years ago; why are they not stopping now???

I was giving you an option prior to spending money.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top