Need some help guys.

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

AggAssault

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 28, 2006
Messages
65
Ok, I am building a new PC in the next 2 weeks and am working on getting the parts ordered. I have chosen a AMD 64 x2 processor, and decided I want to try and get either 667/800 DDR2 ram. For the life of me I cannot choose a motherboard, or find one that fits exactly or close to what I need. Being that SLI is so expensive. I am not a huge gamer, but would like to have a good graphics card. Something that will run the new Conan game perhaps.

Can someone please help me find a motherboard that will fit these needs please, or offer some advice.

I need:

Either 1 or 2 PCI-E 16x
Socket AM2 for AMD 64 x2
4x240 pin connectors 667/800 Dual channel compatible
SATA hookup
Some form of integrated graphics until I can afford a nice vid card.

Budget, pre vid card, and pre 2GB of ram should be somewhere around 450$

Anyone know of a good board from Foxconn, or ASUS right off hand?
 

AggAssault

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 28, 2006
Messages
65
I want to try not to get an nvidia 6100/6150, I hear they overheat even when disabled. I might just have to get everything and hold it until I can afford a new SLI card.
 
Joined
Jul 7, 2006
Messages
1,085
Avoid Foxconn, not of a quality level you want when building yourself.

Have you considered the Core 2 Duo? They're the current performance champ...

ASUS P5B + Intel E6600 would make a screamer for just about anything you want to do...
 
Joined
Aug 24, 2000
Messages
87
I build with ASUS boards, And find them rock solid. And use AMD processors. Never had a comeback
 

AggAssault

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 28, 2006
Messages
65
Yeah I have looked at them, I actually considered getting a pentium D 945. After looking at reviews it seemed the x2 was better.
 

AggAssault

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 28, 2006
Messages
65
What would be a good board for the core 2 duo that supports SLI and DDR2 667/800?
 

AggAssault

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 28, 2006
Messages
65
Would I be sacrificing much by going with a board that doesnt have a SLI chipset in it? Or if I want Dual SLI cards, should I just go with AMD?
 

AggAssault

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 28, 2006
Messages
65
SLI cost so damn much money. It seems you have to prep your system with all perephrials in order to run it. PSupply, RAM, Chipset, 2 SLI cards, everything. Thats ridiculous. What ever happened to the ease of piggybacking the old voodoo cards lol?
 
Joined
Jul 7, 2006
Messages
1,085
I don't think SLI is really necessary. Some people (who are qualified to speak on the issue) call SLI a marketing gimmick. I can't say if that's true or not, but...

The 8800GTX's have been performing better than legacy SLI setups lately.

Plus you need to be looking at DX10. Today is the day for Vista, and DX10 is inevitable.

You can do SLI with Intel--look at the P5W by ASUS. The 975x chipset will support it.
 

AggAssault

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 28, 2006
Messages
65
Ok so say I get the Core 2 Duo. What sets them apart fro the AMD? As a dual core all I am looking for is about 4GHZ combined out of the box. Does the Layer 2 cache make that big of a difference?
 
Joined
Jul 7, 2006
Messages
1,085
AggAssault said:
SLI cost so damn much money. It seems you have to prep your system with all perephrials in order to run it. PSupply, RAM, Chipset, 2 SLI cards, everything. Thats ridiculous. What ever happened to the ease of piggybacking the old voodoo cards lol?
I agree. Although an 8800GTX or GTS is an awfully expensive card. And they hog power like nobody knows...

You will need to invest in a solid power supply whether you go with SLI or not.
 

AggAssault

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 28, 2006
Messages
65
Im probably not gonna go SLI, I would like to have a nive Nvidia card, although I had planned on buying an antec case with atleast a 450W PS in it, 500W if I can find one cheap enough.
 
Joined
Jul 7, 2006
Messages
1,085
Post the case with the PSU before you buy it. MOST cases have crummy PSU's in them, but Antec's are OK. You can probably come close with a cheaper case and a different MFR of PSU.

Also, you'll need to pay less attention to wattage than to the specified amperage on the +12V rail. When powering video cards, that's the important part.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top