Need some help, with an old problem!

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

chuck-HD

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 3, 2005
Messages
1,914
:confused: Every so often,, after i've been on-line.....
I leave one site to go to another, and even tho i've been
accessing the web, this forum,,,and other things.........
All of a sudden i can't access anything even tho i'm ....
on-line...Web pages come up, unavailable, i could'nt
access this forum,,etc. Does any one have any idea why
all of a sudden, after everything seems O.K., things just
stop being accessable?? It's got me confused.
chuck-HD.
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2005
Messages
96
Are you on dial-up or broadband? Are you sure your machine is clean from viruses/spyware?

jT
 
Joined
Sep 7, 2004
Messages
1,912

chuck-HD

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 3, 2005
Messages
1,914
Hi All, Yes i'm on a dial-up, and also i ran McAfee virus scan,
came up with one trojan.....Ran ad-aware scan, came up with
a bunch of tracking cookies, enabled all my things in spyware
blaster, which was odd, because, there were a lot of boxes
unchecked,,and i did'nt uncheck any of them.
Yes this is the same system. I'll run the HJT. and post the log.
Thanks, chuck-HD.
 

chuck-HD

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 3, 2005
Messages
1,914
Here's the log scan, before i ran the scan, i ran my tune-up
wizard......I don't know if that will make a difference or not?
Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.1
Scan saved at 2:48:05 PM, on 7/7/05
Platform: Windows 98 SE (Win9x 4.10.2222A)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
C:\PROGRAM FILES\MCAFEE.COM\VSO\MCVSRTE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSTASK.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\MCAFEE.COM\VSO\MCVSSHLD.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\MCAFEE.COM\VSO\MCVSESCN.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\MCAFEE.COM\AGENT\MCAGENT.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RNAAPP.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\LOGITECH\ITOUCH\ITOUCH.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\RunDLL.exe
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\TAPISRV.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\PSTORES.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\INTERNET EXPLORER\IEXPLORE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\HIJACKTHIS\HIJACKTHIS.EXE

R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://start.chilitech.net/
O2 - BHO: AcroIEHlprObj Class - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\ADOBE\ACROBAT 5.0\READER\ACTIVEX\ACROIEHELPER.OCX
O2 - BHO: Google Toolbar Helper - {AA58ED58-01DD-4d91-8333-CF10577473F7} - c:\program files\google\googletoolbar1.dll
O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSDXM.OCX
O3 - Toolbar: &Google - {2318C2B1-4965-11d4-9B18-009027A5CD4F} - c:\program files\google\googletoolbar1.dll
O3 - Toolbar: McAfee VirusScan - {BA52B914-B692-46c4-B683-905236F6F655} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\MCAFEE.COM\VSO\MCVSSHL.DLL
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [CriticalUpdate] C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\wucrtupd.exe -startup
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ScanRegistry] C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SystemTray] SysTray.Exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [VSOCheckTask] "C:\PROGRA~1\MCAFEE.COM\VSO\MCMNHDLR.EXE" /checktask
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [VirusScan Online] "C:\PROGRA~1\MCAFEE.COM\VSO\mcvsshld.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [MCAgentExe] C:\PROGRA~1\MCAFEE.COM\AGENT\mcagent.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [MCUpdateExe] C:\PROGRA~1\MCAFEE.COM\AGENT\MCUPDATE.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Synchronization Manager] mobsync.exe /logon
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [zBrowser Launcher] C:\Program Files\Logitech\iTouch\iTouch.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [McVsRte] C:\PROGRA~1\MCAFEE.COM\VSO\mcvsrte.exe /embedding
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Taskbar Display Controls] RunDLL deskcp16.dll,QUICKRES_RUNDLLENTRY
O8 - Extra context menu item: Backward Links - res://C:\PROGRAM FILES\GOOGLE\GOOGLETOOLBAR1.DLL/cmbacklinks.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Translate Page into English - res://C:\PROGRAM FILES\GOOGLE\GOOGLETOOLBAR1.DLL/cmtrans.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Cached Snapshot of Page - res://C:\PROGRAM FILES\GOOGLE\GOOGLETOOLBAR1.DLL/cmcache.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: &Translate English Word - res://C:\PROGRAM FILES\GOOGLE\GOOGLETOOLBAR1.DLL/cmwordtrans.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: &Google Search - res://C:\PROGRAM FILES\GOOGLE\GOOGLETOOLBAR1.DLL/cmsearch.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Similar Pages - res://C:\PROGRAM FILES\GOOGLE\GOOGLETOOLBAR1.DLL/cmsimilar.html
O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_04\bin\npjpi150_04.dll
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Sun Java Console - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_04\bin\npjpi150_04.dll
O12 - Plugin for .spop: C:\PROGRA~1\INTERN~1\Plugins\NPDocBox.dll
O16 - DPF: {5F0C30E4-1E72-4DCC-85E5-57810F1CA97B} (McUpdatePortalFactory Class) - http://www.amiuptodate.com/vsc/bin/1,0,0,7/McUpdatePortal.cab
O16 - DPF: {17492023-C23A-453E-A040-C7C580BBF700} (Windows Genuine Advantage Validation Tool) - http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?linkid=36467&clcid=0x409
O16 - DPF: {0E5F0222-96B9-11D3-8997-00104BD12D94} (PCPitstop Utility) - http://pcpitstop.com/pcpitstop/PCPitStop.CAB
 

chuck-HD

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 3, 2005
Messages
1,914
Hi 1069, And yes it is usually after a while on-line.
chuck-HD.
 

blues_harp28

Moderator
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
19,294
Hi...log looks clean(log expert will check)..
Try checking your cookie settings..Control panel>internet options>set slider to medium...
 

chuck-HD

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 3, 2005
Messages
1,914
O.K. I'll do that,, I also did a scan from the link provided by
1069,,,it came up clean. Thanks Again, I Appreciate
Your Time, chuck-HD.
 

chuck-HD

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 3, 2005
Messages
1,914
blues harp28, I checked out internet options....It's already at
medium.. chuck-HD.
 

chuck-HD

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 3, 2005
Messages
1,914
Hi blues harp28, I just did an on-line spyware scan from
TrendMicro.......To my surprise,,there was one adware
problem...and one thing found that was refered to as a
possible browser hijacker....I've done a number of AD-AWARE
scans, it never showed adware, just track. cookies......And
the browser hijacker.....It said was a form of wwwcoolweb...
I have the CWShredder and it did'nt pick it up......Do these
things get by the scans every so often? I thought that's what
they were designed to do.....Maybe they were my problem.
I'd appreciate your in put. chuck-HD.
 

blues_harp28

Moderator
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
19,294
Hi...No matter how much protection we have..The nasties can get through...
A log expert may see something in your log...hang tight...;)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top