Need Some Info!

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

soulq

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 15, 2010
Messages
9
Hi Recently Ive come across a problem with my psu and my gpu and my cpu cooler i changed all of them but i was looking at other peoples speedfan screenshots and i noticed my +12v rail is mostly always at 2.50v i dont know if thats a problem or not so im attaching a speedfan screenshot of my voltages and temps in hopes that someone might help me figure out why my pc freezes when i play games at varies time periods so play help me
 

Attachments

Joined
Jan 27, 2009
Messages
2,608
I think if it was that low the computer wouldn't boot at all to be honest because the 3.3v is also very close to 0v. Try using a program called CPUID hardware monitor. It seems to give me better and more acurate results. Look in the bios as well if you can.
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2009
Messages
2,608
It doesnt look like the 12v sensor is damaged as it is reporting a range of different voltages. It may be that the PSU is broken or the motherboard is not sending correct voltage information. It is hard to tell unless you have a voltage multimeter around.
 

soulq

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 15, 2010
Messages
9
nah i don't just a side note tho i recently replaced the psu and that psu was doing the same thing during gaming too so im guessing it could be the processor or mobo since everything else is basically a week or 2 old
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,604
Check your voltages in the bios. There is no way your 12V is that low; it would not even post if it were.

Next post the exact system specs; ie make and model of mb, brand and wattage of pw supply, brand and speed of ram, what cpu, what video card, etc, etc, etc. Post links to your parts if possible.
 

soulq

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 15, 2010
Messages
9
Ok Specs are

Intel Core 2 Q6600 @ 2.4ghz
Gigabyte EP-45T Extreme Motherboard
6GB of G-skill DDR3 Ram 1333mhz
Xfx ATI 4890
Cosair HX 750w PSU
2 pioneer DVD burners
1 Seagate 1TB HDD sata
1 WD 640GB HDD sata
1 Seagate 600gb HDD IDE

i checked the bios i dont think this photo capture is of the right thing but it is the only thing i could find on voltages on my bios
 

Attachments

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,604
Since you have a gigabyte board, why not load easytune on your system? This will give you all of the hardware readings. You can download the latest version at the gigabyte site.

As to your problem, does it freeze on just one game or all games? Does it freeze when doing some cpu intensive task like video encoding?
 

soulq

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 15, 2010
Messages
9
only game ive tested that hasnt frozen was guild wars all others freeze i have easy tune installed already and no it doesnt freeze on video encoding just games tried champions online, devil may cry 4 the witcher sacred 2 no matter what config i do it just crashes
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,604
OK, if you have easytune installed, what does it show for temps and voltages? Make sure you run something that stresses the system like prime95 when checking voltages.

What does your video card show for temps under a load?
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,604
Your cpu temps seem OK. Have you opened the system to check the mounting of the video cooler and given the system a good cleaning with a can of air?
 

soulq

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 15, 2010
Messages
9
yep ive picked it apart afew times idk im running out of ideas tho i noticed the other day the pins on the gpu where the fan connects to were bent considering i never touched the gpu where the pins are i can return it and see if i can get it replaced
 

soulq

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 15, 2010
Messages
9
i put in my card into the pci-e 8x slot and it took alot longer for a game to crash i thought all was well til it crashed im starting to think the card has been faulty or something
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,604
It may well be. XFX has a lifetime warranty so you can return the card. Just go through the normal rma process.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top