1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Need some wireless network advice/help??

Discussion in 'Networking' started by jwlknsn7, Jul 28, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jwlknsn7

jwlknsn7 Thread Starter

Hi guys,

New to this forum and just looking for a bit of advice regarding wireless routers and the setup.

I've recently moved out of home and back to parents house. I am bringing with me a desktop PC which is going in the room where my parents desktop is. My parents desktop is then moving upstairs and we are also considering a laptop. I'm a bit of a novice on this but of what I've read so far as I understand it what I'll need is the following:

Wireless modem router to replace current modem connected to main PC.
    Wireless card to go into PC going upstairs (Or wireless USB attachment)
    Assuming laptop would already have integrated wireless connectivity

As we are currently going to have two PC's running from the router and potentially a laptop, what do I need to consider when buying a wireless router? I don't want to have to spend 100's of £'s on one but also obviously don't want a budget one which may result in connection issues and slowdown in our connections. Thing is I don't know much about them and really need some advice on a few suitable ones for me. We currently are on a 2MB broadband connection and we would be using the pcs mainly for surfing, chatting and downloading now and again. I want to make sure our internet connections won't be slowed down.

I also need to know which is best
    wireless card inside PC?
    or wireless USB?

I asked the IT guys at work - one of them preferred the cards and said the USB in his experience get a few problems, the other guy said he uses USB's and has had no problems! Arghhh!