1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Need Tech Help WinDVD

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by wiseguyz408, Apr 18, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. wiseguyz408

    wiseguyz408 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    70
    Hello,

    I am running WinDVD 5 Platinum. I am on Windows 98SE.

    I had an earlier problem with My WinDVD that was originally installed on my PC where it would not detect any DVD in my drive So i upgraded to WinDVD 5 Platinum but I still have the same problem. This time i get an exact error message that reads:

    'no valid drive/disk found'

    This happends when i attempt to play the DVD. It cant be a problem with my DVD drive because DVD's will play in Interactual Player, they just will not work in WinDVD for some reason.

    I will appreciate any help that is given to me on resolving this matter.

    Thanks,
    Ron
     
  2. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    You might try uninstalling InterActual Player if you still have it. It is an annoying and despotic piece of software.
     
  3. wiseguyz408

    wiseguyz408 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    70
    I'm not sure if that is what it is. There are alot of things that say disabled in my Info for WinDVD i dont know what they are can you take a look and try to make an understanding:

    Version:
    5.3 B05.022
    Navigation:
    Info not available
    Video:
    Info not available
    Audio:
    Info not available
    CPU:
    Name: Intel(R) Pentium(R) III Processor
    Family:6 Model:8 Stepping:3
    Standard Feature: 0x0383f9ff
    Hyper-Threading: Not supported, Not enabled
    Instruction support:
    Intel MMX: Enabled
    Intel SSE: Enabled
    Intel SSE2: Not enabled
    AMD 3DNow!: Not enabled
    AMD Enh 3DNow!: Not enabled
    AMD 3DNow! Pro: Not enabled
     
  4. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    There is nothing there that should prevent your DVD's from playing. The MMX and 3DNow! are multimedia extensions on your CPU. You have MMX enabled because you have an Intel MMX CPU.

    Have you tried uninstalling InterActual and reinstalling WinDVD?
     
  5. wiseguyz408

    wiseguyz408 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    70
    il uninstall interactual now and post back.

    I alrdy tryed un/re installing windvd several times no sucess
     
  6. wiseguyz408

    wiseguyz408 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    70
    I Uninstalled Inter Actual and WIn DVD and then reinstalled WinDVD and still i get the same error =(

    Any ideas now?
     
  7. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Out of ideas. To tell you the truth, I just trashed WinDVD and play all my DVD's on Windows Media Player. It just seemed easier.
     
  8. wiseguyz408

    wiseguyz408 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    70
    i just realised something when my DVD is struggling to play this program comes up in the task list

    msgsrv.32[not responding]

    know what it is?
     
  9. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    It is the program that shows you error messages. Something is not right.

    Is everything in your Device Manager OK?
     
  10. wiseguyz408

    wiseguyz408 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    70
    Yes nothing wrong in device manager. I have to go for the night I will be back tomorrow after work. If you can find any more info on it i would appreciate it. Thanks alot for help goodnight.

    Ron
     
  11. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
  12. barnnyardd

    barnnyardd

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2003
    Messages:
    321
    i bought a dvd+r burner that came with win dvd. it did give me some trouble so i bought power dvd and love it
     
  13. wiseguyz408

    wiseguyz408 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    70
    Power DVD doesnt work either, the only DVD player that works is Inter Actual But i just unistalled it to try to fix these problems.

    Elvandil my drive is not listed in that list.

    The DVD dive I use is

    SAMSUNG DVD-ROM SD-612 (12x/40x DVD-ROM)
     
  14. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    You might try contacting tech support at that site, but they do state pretty clearly that they only support the listed drives.
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/221780

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice