1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved Need to check DP port compatibility w/Giagbyte motherboard

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by bj nick, Feb 3, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. bj nick

    bj nick Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 1999
    Messages:
    1,729
    So I bought a new Dell U2015 monitor but it won't connect to my desktop dp port, or HDMI. Spent significant time already w/Dell tech support, but no dice. Last night they said my included mini-dp-to-Dp input port will not work w/my desktop. They said the options are: get a dp-to-dp cable or if that doesn't work, get a docking station. But they said the dp port on my desktop MUST be V. 1.2. How do I find out if the motherboard is V. 1.2? The motherboard is a GA-H55M-USB3. Tried to search, to no avail.

    Also: if it is NOT V. 1.2, what's my best option for hooking this up? Adapter for dvi port??
     
  2. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    22,573
    On that board, as you have not mentioned any graphics card I presume you are using the integrated graphics
    I do not of course know if you are using these, or indeed have a actual graphics card

    They have on the I/O plate the following ports
    Integrated in the Chipset:
    1. 1 x D-Sub port
    2. 1 x DVI-D port (Note 3) (Note 4)
    3. 1 x HDMI port(Note 4)
    4. 1 x DisplayPort (Note 4)
    Note 3 and 4 read
    Note 3) The DVI-D port does not support D-Sub connection by adapter.
    (Note 4) You can use only one of the onboard digital graphics ports (e.g. DisplayPort, HDMI, and DVI-D) for output when in the BIOS Setup program or when during the POST screens.

    I cannot find the spec for the U2015 monitor but if the monitor is digital which if you have only just bought it, it most surely is, why will it not connect HDMI

    Returning to your actual question and the statement from Dell, I think the problem may be the resolution on the monitor
    https://www.dell.com/support/articl...ell-p2715q-p2415q-flat-panel-monitors?lang=en

    IF your system supports DP version 1.2, the monitor can display the resolution of 3840x2160 @ 60hz
    If computer supports DP version 1.1, monitor will not be able to achieve 3840x2160 @ 60hz. It will support lower 60 Hz resolutions such as 2560x1440 or 1920x1080.

    Whether or not the next solution is correct depends on the monitor as this guide is not for your monitor but the principle is the same for all

    Through the Monitor’s On-Screen Display menu (OSD), change the option from MST "OFF" to MST "Secondary" (You are changing the monitor’s setting from DP 1.2 to 1.1). It may be necessary to restart the computer for monitor settings to activate.
    Presuming again you are using the integrated graphics see page 49 of your manual for the board for setting that as display in BIOS, although if you have not changed anything that should be as was before you connected the new monitor

    The board is display port 1.0/1.1
     
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2019
  3. bj nick

    bj nick Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 1999
    Messages:
    1,729
    Hi, thanks so much for all that. I am embarrassed to say that right after posting this, I went to Best Buy to see about an adapter, and was told that the issue was that the monitor must be plugged into the graphics card, not the on-board inputs. They sold me an HDMI-Dvi adapter, I plugged it in, and it worked instantly. I must say I am BAFFLED that in an hour with Dell tech support on the phone, that did not occur to them. So hey, kudos to the Geek Squad!
     
  4. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    22,573
    Indeed
    I am as good as the Geek Squad then
    as I spotted it immediately

    That said, if of course Best Buy SAW the computer they would immediately know it had a card, as the connections would NOT be on the I/O plate.
    It is not my job to defend DELL tech, but connecting to the card rather then the I/O plate is so basic that perhaps they NEVER thought - the monitor may be connected to the I/O plate and the internal graphics not enabled or indeed the CPU has no integrated graphics

    DO NOT feel too bad about it - you would not be the first person to disconnect a cable and NOT connect the new one in the same place
     
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2019
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1222668

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice