Need to find Motherboard Drivers

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

1trueshadow

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 1, 2003
Messages
86
I am fixing a freinds computer. A Voltage regulator went out and busted two caps. Not wanting to go though the trouble of sodering in replacements (which, btw I suck at) I went out and bought a used motherboard as is. After installing it I realized that the onboard Video, audio and network adapter needed specail drivers that Windows 2000 doesnt have on hand. I do not know who makes the board, I only know that it is a SiS chipset with Socket 7 and has the folowing numbers:
EA=00D0097D3244
HSD2012006853

I have googled SiS and the two numbers without sucsess. I am Hopeing someone out there knows of a site to look up hardware. Thanx in advance
 
Joined
Aug 15, 2002
Messages
5,577
:eek: A socket 7? Isn't that from the Pentium I days...? And you're trying to run Win2k on it?

Does anything come up in the BIOS relating to the motherboard at all?
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2003
Messages
16,274
I think Mctimson is right and if you want to run w2k you should go shopping again as that board isn't going to give you much..
 

1trueshadow

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 1, 2003
Messages
86
lol, I have ran 2k on an AMD k6 model 8 450Mhz before with no prob guys. Agreed, this is NOT going to be a high end gaming box. The guy only wants to use it for typing up reports and a little net surfing here and there. A 600Mhz Duron is plenty for him. As for that program Compilerxp, I am going to try it shortly. Thanx for the info
 

1trueshadow

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 1, 2003
Messages
86
:eek: OMG!! This program is a god-send Compilerxp!! Thanx!! (y)

I was able to find out that the Motherboard is a M810LR made by PcChips. It even gave me a site to go to!!

Oh, just alittle side note. It may be a older board. But tell me why I should look for another one when this one cold boots Win2K in a minute flat? :rolleyes: Just wonderin....
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2002
Messages
1,629
Install all the software, firewall, AV, add-ons, etc...

Ugh... PCChips (nightmares)... at least youre up a going, but yeah, AIDA rocks.... tell ya everything.. you can remove software using it as well..
 

1trueshadow

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 1, 2003
Messages
86
Originally posted by me:
....it is a SiS chipset with Socket 7.....
ok, I screwed up on that one. The board is ACTUALLY a socket 462. Don't ask me how I missed that. All I am going to say is its been a long 48 hours.:(
 
Joined
Mar 25, 2003
Messages
512
Twas wondering bout that....how u were goin to run a 600 Duron
on a Socket 7 ??? ......guess i am cranky too. Bedtime
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top