1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Need to format my harddrive

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by vegastech, Sep 20, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. vegastech

vegastech Thread Starter

Need to rebuild my computer. Currently has Windows 2000, but my son was messing with it, and it keeps locking up. I do not need anything on (already backed up the few documents I need). I was told by a friend to reformat the harddrive and reload Window 2000. I am new to this. I went to RUN, typed in CMD and then typed format C: It tells me it can't format because it is in use (I assume because Windows is running).
    So how do I reformat?
    I know this is probably simple to everyone else, but again...I am new so forgive me if this sounds dumb.

2. ~Candy~

~Candy~ Retired Administrator

Set your boot order in your bios setup to cd first....then restart with the 2K cd in the drive......

3. BTS '76

BTS '76

yup, because windows 2000 dosen't have a true command prompt.

get your hands on a windows 98 boot disk, put it in the machine, and reboot. At the A promt, type in format C:

boot disks

just download into a folder, and then copy it to a floppy.

wow, candy you beat me to it!!

4. vegastech

vegastech Thread Starter

Thanks, Candy and BTS!

Candy - I understand your suggestion - to change the order because it will try to reboot from the floppy first. But like I said, I am new to this and do not know how to change the bios.

BTS - thanks for the link. I am copying and creating the 98 boot disk now, and will try it in a few minutes.

5. vegastech

vegastech Thread Starter

BTS or Candy
    Downloaded the 98 boot disk, copied to floppy. rebooted windows 2000 pc with floppy in,