1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Need to increase paging file

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by tushkahoma, Jan 15, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. tushkahoma

    tushkahoma Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2002
    Messages:
    221
    I am running W2K and keep getting an error message upon startup telling me to increase the paging file. I have been unsuccessful in doing this in the system properties under the advanced tab. Can I do this in the registery?
     
  2. tushkahoma

    tushkahoma Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2002
    Messages:
    221
    An extra note on this, when I right click on the properties of my computer I also get this message from System Control Panel Applet.......Windows created a temporary paging file on your computer because of a problem that occurred with your paging file configuration when you started your computer. The total paging file size for all disk drives may be somewhat larger than the size you specified.
     
  3. larswebb

    larswebb

    Joined:
    May 10, 2003
    Messages:
    95
    I'm having the exact same problem with my system. Could this be caused by a MS Update?

    P4 2.53
    Win2K
    512
     
  4. coorrel

    coorrel

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    250
    Go to my computers=>control panel=>system=>advanced tab=>performance options=>change (around 400-750 would be fine...
    By the way i got no idea what im talking about... but it might help...:D
     
  5. WindowWizard

    WindowWizard

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2003
    Messages:
    67
    Is your system Dual booting with another OS? All versions of MS windows use the same name for the page file and the same default location. If you have windows setup to control the size of the page file in one OS it could be leaving the file in a larger size than another version expects.. Thus it assumes its corrupt.

    If you have more than 1 HD I would create a new page file for one or the other of your OS's and place it on the second drive.
     
  6. LANMaster

    LANMaster Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    55,854
    Check to see that you have at least 500MB of free HD space.

    (just a hunch)
     
  7. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    39,199
    First off are you logged in as admin or an account with admin rights? If so, go to control panel>system>advanced>performance options>virtual memory>change. Set it for what ever you want, I prefer a fixed size for the paging file. Make sure you click “set” when you are finished setting the size. Now restart and you are good to go. Make sure you have enough space on your hd.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Need increase paging
  1. silver1976
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    479
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/113358

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice