1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Needing Help With GIMP

Discussion in 'Digital Photography & Imaging' started by Holly3278, Apr 17, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Holly3278

Holly3278 Thread Starter

Hi everyone. I could use some serious help with GIMP. I am trying to edit an animated GIF image. What I am trying to do is I am trying to remove text from the image on each frame of the animation. However, I can't figure out how to do this? Could somebody please tell me how to do this in detailed, easy to follow steps? Thanks, I'm a GIMP amateur. :eek:

2. buck52

buck52 Banned

Howdy

No help with Gimpy... wouldn't waste my time... Animation Shop 3 that came with Paint Shop Pro7 years ago beats the pants off most animation programs even now but...

If you post the animation I'm sure someone can help

3. Hughv

Hughv

There are probably better programs for this.
    Open the file, and make sure the layer palette is open so you can select the layer you want to edit.
    Basically, just turn off all the layers except the one you're editing, make your changes and move to the next.
    It might be easier to just create a new animated gif.
    http://tldp.org/linuxfocus/English/July1998/article51.html

4. SSSteve

SSSteve

I use Irfanview/I first open the GIF up in irfanview the select options/then extract all frames/save them to where ever you like/now you can open up the slide that has the text and edit it with irfanview by cropping it out or take it into what ever prorgram you like and remove the text.
    Steve

5. tomdkat

tomdkat Retired Trusted Advisor

I'm a long time Gimp user. :)