1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

needs game port enabled?

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by viperpa33s, Nov 10, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. viperpa33s

    viperpa33s Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2
    I play a online game called The 4th Coming. My game won't play now, cause I was told my game port has been disabled. I can access the internet but can't access the game. How do I "enable" the game port and where do I enable it at? Any info would be greatly appreciated.........thanx :)


    I am behind "no" firewalls, and is running from a 56k modem connected to a server. It has been working fine for about a month. I "have" access to the net, but "not" to the game server.
     
  2. Jest8

    Jest8

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 1999
    Messages:
    243
    Have you installed any firewalls recently? (Zone Alarm, Black Ice, Sygate etc..) Or any routers/switches?
     
  3. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    37,203
    Hiya

    Which version are you using, and your OS?
    Do you get any errors coming up, such as Server Execution Failed?

    Also, do you have any proxies or a proxy server running? Also, which is the server you are connecting to? They have quite a few, by the looks of it

    Regards

    eddie
     
  4. viperpa33s

    viperpa33s Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2
    I don't know if they changed the proxy. Since the computer I am asking about is a computer I use at work, it's a little hard asking from someone at the job. I did install the game on another computer at work and it worked fine, the problem is the computer is older than time itself.

    I know I have to change the UDP ports so the game has access to the internet. I just wanted to know how do I go about checking the UDP ports and where they are at in (Windows 98 SE) I think it's in MS-DOS but not sure. I am not sure how the game intergrates into windows, I know that it uses the graphics driver very heavily.
     
  5. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    37,203
    Well, the problem with installing games on a week PC, is that they set up their system so that certain UDP and other ports are closed. This is to lower their security risk.

    If you want to see if its a broswer proxy, go to Tools | Internet Options. Connections Tab. Settings (either Settings or LAN Settings). Is Use A Proxy Server Checked? If so, thats the proxy that they're using. If not, they may have it set up at their end.

    If it uses the graphics card heavily and this is an old PC, are you sure you want to set this up?

    I would really suggest you talk with the admins at work. I think we know the reply, but they may think that what you're doing is a breach of contract.

    Regards

    eddie
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/58167

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice