1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Neep help setting up home network

Discussion in 'Networking' started by simonsays34, Sep 28, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. simonsays34

simonsays34 Thread Starter

I am fairly new to networking but I am not a beginner when it comes to some of this stuff. I have a desktop computer hooked up to a cable modem, wireless router, and a printer. I also have a laptop running wirelessly through the router.

I would like to have the computers networked so it is possible to view files on both and also, more importantly, I would like to be able to print from my laptop without having to hook it up with a cable.

I am wondering if this is possible to setup with the router I have (Netgear 802.11g WGR614) or if I have to purchase any other items.

Thanks for the help!

2. StumpedTechy

StumpedTechy

You have all the hardware needed you just need to setup the software side.

1) Check your firewalls (I usually disable them but you may want to disable them just to setup the network then fidget with them to get your network working as you want it)
    2) make sure both PC's are using the same IP scheme (IPCONFIG /ALL from the command prompt)
    3) Make sure both are in the same workgroup. If they have different workgroup names this can cause problems.
    4) On your desktop ensured your printer is shared.

As well you can do file sharing and more the main thing to remember is when printing from the laptop the desktop will have to be on in order for the print job to process. If you want it where either device can be turned off you need some kind of print server hardware (thus incurring more cost).

3. simonsays34

simonsays34 Thread Starter